Can Someone Help Me With A Custom Config?

NimbusNimbus Join Date: 2002-11-06 Member: 7239Members
<div class="IPBDescription">Not entirely sure how to do this.</div> Can someone help me here? I want to bind each of the 4 alien attacks to each of my mouse buttons. I'm not sure how do this but I think it's like:

bind mouse1 slot1, +attack
bind mouse2 slot2, +attack
bind mouse4 slot3, +attack
bind mouse5 slot4, +attack

(mouse 3 is the mousewheel)

Now could someone tell me how to do this? I think there's supposed to be an alias in there somewhere, but I'm not sure where.

Comments

  • MadcaptnMadcaptn Join Date: 2002-11-22 Member: 9636Members
    bind mouse4 "slot3; wait; wait; wait; +attack"

    try stuff like that.. should work
  • TyphonTyphon Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 1899Members
    bind mouse1 "slot1;wait;+attack;wait;-attack"
    bind mouse2 "slot2;wait;+attack;wait;-attack"
    etc.

    now when you hit one of your mouse buttons, it'll do that attack once.
  • NimbusNimbus Join Date: 2002-11-06 Member: 7239Members
    Humph, neither of those work the way I'd like it to. Either the attack would never stop, or it wouldn't attack immediately, or it wouldn't keep attacking if I held the button down. I experimented for an hour and it wouldn't go right.

    Bah, I give up.
  • DraugluinDraugluin Join Date: 2002-10-31 Member: 1824Members, Constellation
    Put this in c:\sierra\half-life\ns\autoexec.cfg. Once you get into the game open the console and type exec autoexec.cfg. From then on if your buttons stop working, like after a level change or something, just hit the home key.

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->hud_fastswitch 1

    alias +slot1att "slot1;wait;wait;+attack"
    alias -slot1att "-attack"

    alias +slot2att "slot2;wait;wait;+attack"
    alias -slot2att "-attack"

    alias +slot3att "slot3;wait;wait;+attack"
    alias -slot3att "-attack"

    alias +slot4att "slot4;wait;wait;+attack"
    alias -slot4att "-attack"

    bind mouse1 +slot1att
    bind mouse2 +slot2att
    bind mouse4 +slot3att
    bind mouse5 +slot4att
    bind home "exec autoexec.cfg"<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
  • NazgulNazgul Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3275Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--Nimbus+Nov 24 2002, 07:57 PM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Nimbus @ Nov 24 2002, 07:57 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->Can someone help me here? I want to bind each of the 4 alien attacks to each of my mouse buttons. I'm not sure how do this but I think it's like:

    bind mouse1 slot1, +attack
    bind mouse2 slot2, +attack
    bind mouse4 slot3, +attack
    bind mouse5 slot4, +attack

    (mouse 3 is the mousewheel)

    Now could someone tell me how to do this? I think there's supposed to be an alias in there somewhere, but I'm not sure where.<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Go to:

    <a href='http://nstactics.lanvancouver.com/weapon_binds.html' target='_blank'>http://nstactics.lanvancouver.com/weapon_binds.html</a>

    Look at the bottom of the page.
  • SoulSkorpionSoulSkorpion Join Date: 2002-04-12 Member: 423Members
    Btw, in my experience using a script like this for a melee attack is a Bad thing, because it is unreliable. I keep my melee weapon bound to mouse2, but just selecting it. You need to be able to depend on your melee weapon with your life, and you can't do that if it's unreliable :/
  • NimbusNimbus Join Date: 2002-11-06 Member: 7239Members
    thanks guys, I got it working now, works great.

    here's exactly what I did:

    I put these lines in a custom cfg:
    bind "MOUSE1" "+wep1"
    bind "MOUSE2" "+wep2"
    bind "MOUSE3" "+popupmenu"
    bind "MOUSE4" "+wep3"
    bind "MOUSE5" "+wep4"
    alias +wep1 "slot1;+attack"
    alias -wep1 "-attack"
    alias +wep2 "slot2;+attack"
    alias -wep2 "-attack"
    alias +wep3 "slot3;+attack"
    alias -wep3 "-attack"
    alias +wep4 "slot4;+attack"
    alias -wep4 "-attack"
    bind "F8" "exec config.cfg"

    and I put this line in the config.cfg for ns
    bind "F8" "exec custom.cfg"

    I just use f8 to toggle it on or off, and I have to be sure to have it off when I exit halflife, otherwise it overwrites some stuff.
  • SoulSkorpionSoulSkorpion Join Date: 2002-04-12 Member: 423Members
    It's generally a good idea to have what's in your config.cfg in a file called ns.cfg, and have autoexec.cfg exec it. This is so that you can do all your fiddling ingame, but none of it is permenant unless you save it (since any ingame changes change the config.cfg).
  • shock404shock404 Join Date: 2002-11-24 Member: 9773Members
    isn't the autoexec.cfg supposed to execute automatically? Why do you need to toggle it on in ns?
  • DraugluinDraugluin Join Date: 2002-10-31 Member: 1824Members, Constellation
    Sometimes NS doesn't run the autoexec.cfg
  • ElvenThiefElvenThief aka Elven Thief (ex. NS Programmer) Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8754Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    edited December 2002
    Exec it again after you've changed it.
    I've had them bug me before, but then they never fail after I make sure they run
  • DraugluinDraugluin Join Date: 2002-10-31 Member: 1824Members, Constellation
    Yeah I have it bound to a key. See my above post <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='smile.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • DraugluinDraugluin Join Date: 2002-10-31 Member: 1824Members, Constellation
    I have an updated config that addresses these issues:

    <ul>
    <li>It doesn't attempt to change the weapon unless it needs to
    <li>It will have delay only during weapon switch
    </ul>

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    alias setslots "bind mouse1 +slot1go;bind mouse2 +slot2go;bind mouse4 +slot3go;bind mouse5 +slot4go"

    alias slot1instant "bind mouse1 +attack"
    alias slot2instant "bind mouse2 +attack"
    alias slot3instant "bind mouse4 +attack"
    alias slot4instant "bind mouse5 +attack"

    alias +slot1go "slot1;wait;+attack;setslots;slot1instant"
    alias +slot2go "slot2;wait;+attack;setslots;slot2instant"
    alias +slot3go "slot3;wait;+attack;setslots;slot3instant"
    alias +slot4go "slot4;wait;+attack;setslots;slot4instant"

    alias -slot1go "-attack"
    alias -slot2go "-attack"
    alias -slot3go "-attack"
    alias -slot4go "-attack"

    slot1
    setslots
    slot1instant
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
  • DuckDuck Join Date: 2002-11-18 Member: 9195Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--SoulSkorpion+Nov 26 2002, 03:47 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (SoulSkorpion @ Nov 26 2002, 03:47 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->It's generally a good idea to have what's in your config.cfg in a file called ns.cfg, and have autoexec.cfg exec it. This is so that you can do all your fiddling ingame, but none of it is permenant unless you save it (since any ingame changes change the config.cfg).<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    It's also handy for when jerk off admins exec unbindall with adminmod. Not that this has happened to me in NS, but someone played a prank on me in another mod and I had to rebind all my keys.
  • kaxmankaxman Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 4149Members
    Two other ways to keep yourself safe:
    <ul>
    <li>Make config.cfg read-only.
    <li>If an admin <i>does</i> unbind all your commands, just exec config.cfg before you quit. It will rebind your controls to normal, since nothing is written to config.cfg until exiting.
    </ul>
  • SoulSkorpionSoulSkorpion Join Date: 2002-04-12 Member: 423Members
    There's no point in making it read only. Wouldn't that prevent ingame tweaks? I often stop and do a quick alias if I need to modify something.
  • InsidiousInsidious Join Date: 2002-11-21 Member: 9553Members
    Or you can be lazy like me and just move all of your important binds into the autoexec.cfg itself <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/biggrin.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='biggrin.gif'><!--endemo-->
Sign In or Register to comment.