Adminmod Not Working?

DrGigglesDrGiggles Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8833Members
<div class="IPBDescription">I think I found a solution!</div> So I run a RedHat 7.3 system and AdminMod would not work for me, and after reading all the documents 5 times over and hearing how easy it was to install AdminMod (basic stock install none the less) I decided that 3 fresh install retries was enough and I had to come up with something else. So I did... Also, while I was doing my research I may have stumbled across a solution for the Win32 problem (or a speed bump none the less) I haven't been able to test it, but I'll install a dev suite tonight and give my idea a try for Win32.
(NOTE to NS Devs: CTimer sound like it might be a problem?)

I'll try to do my best to write this up so everyone who is having the same problem can try to fix it.

Here we go:

<!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
cd
mkdir hl_dev
cd hl_dev

cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@cvs.halflifeadmin.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/halflifeadmin login
cvs -z3 -d:pserver:anonymous@cvs.halflifeadmin.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/halflifeadmin co -r am-2_50_50-release admin_v2

cd admin_v2/amxdll
make

cp amx_admin.so /path/to/your/adminmod/dlls/
<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
Now you should try out the server and see if everything works.

If this doesn't fix the problem, you may also need to recompile AdminMod
I'll step through that now:

<!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
cd ~/hl_dev

wget <a href='http://www.metamod.org/files/metamod-1.13.1.tgz' target='_blank'>http://www.metamod.org/files/metamod-1.13.1.tgz</a>
wget <a href='http://www.metamod.org/files/sdk/hlsdk-2.2b.tgz' target='_blank'>http://www.metamod.org/files/sdk/hlsdk-2.2b.tgz</a>

tar -zxf metamod-1.13.1.tgz
tar -zxf hlsdk-2.2b.tgz

mv metamod-1.13.1 metamod
mv hlsdk-2.2b hlsdk

cd admin_v2/hl
make

If you have errors about missing libs see below)

cp admin_MM_i386.so /path/to/your/adminmod/dlls/
<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

Got Errors?

<!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
cd /usr/lib

ls libstdc++-libc*  (In RedHat you're looking for the green .so)

su

(Yours may differ I'm going from my own experience)
ln -s libstdc++-3-libc6.2-2-2.10.0.so libstdc++-libc6.1-2.a.3

cd ~/hl_dev/hl
make

cp admin_MM_i386.so /path/to/your/adminmod/dlls/
<!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

Now you should try out the server and see if everything works.

I hope this helps someone get AdminMod installed who couldn't previously!


I'll be back here with a *possible* "fixed" Win32 adminmod.dll very soon!

Comments

  • DrGigglesDrGiggles Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8833Members
    Okay, threw together some Win32 DLLs:

    These are all just test I don't really have a way to test them quickly, I’m posting them in the order of probability to function properly.
  • DrGigglesDrGiggles Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8833Members
  • DrGigglesDrGiggles Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8833Members
    Number 3 <- The last ditch effort!
  • RavenousBugblatterBeastRavenousBugblatterBeast Join Date: 2002-11-09 Member: 7915Members
    edited November 2002
    The win32 adminmod problems are caused by adminmod inserting a timer entity into the game, and natural selection trying to treat that entity as one of its own objects. The solution to this is to modify Natural Selection not to modify Admin mod - removing the timer entity from admin mod would cripple its functionality. Leaving it in may make NS unstable as is in then performing processing on the adminmod timer entity, treating it as one of its own game entities. This could lead to all sorts of very hard to diagnose side effects (I can't tell you what, because I don't have NS source code).

    The necessary change to natural selection was already made between versions 1.01 and 1.02. I had a test copy of 1.02 where this was working fine. However by the time 1.02 was released, it was broken again. Flayra has since made another fix to it, and (some of) the beta testers have a post 1.02 build that works. They have also added an experienced admin mod server owner to the beta team to help ensure future compatibility.

    My only involvement with NS has been to fix this bug, so I can't speak for when or how it will be released, but I can tell you the timer is the precise cause, and it has been fixed.

    P.s. Why are you telling linux users to install adminmod by compiling from source? There is a perfectly good binary distribution from which they could copy the .so files and install by hand.
  • DrGigglesDrGiggles Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8833Members
    On my system, the binary would not work, it wasn't admin_MM_i386.so that was the problem it was amx_admin.so. Don't really know why it wouldn't work, just that it wouldn't, recompiling with my libs seemed to make it friendly with my system.

    I know the problem was a timer entity, so on a whim I thought that maybe if the entity was changed into a new name or something it might solve a problem. Finally someone told me the dlls didn't work, so now I know. Awesome that it's going to be fixed in the next version, this should make a lot of people happy...

    I only advise compiling the source if it won't work for your system, this was the first time I've ever needed to compile anything from adminmod. Being that I use Linux for all my server needs, I'm very familiar with recompiling things, and I'm slightly weary of pre-compiled binaries (seg faults = recompile).

    Anyhoo, I'll discontinue my work on attempting to make adminmod work around NS, since the problem is already solved in beta.
  • YG-NightFallYG-NightFall Join Date: 2002-11-22 Member: 9595Members
    I've tried out test1.zip and it works fine with ns1

    Thx m8
  • DrGigglesDrGiggles Join Date: 2002-11-15 Member: 8833Members
    <!--QuoteBegin---=YG=-NightFall+Nov 23 2002, 12:36 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (-=YG=-NightFall @ Nov 23 2002, 12:36 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I've tried out test1.zip and it works fine with ns1<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Very nice to hear, I figured if any of them was going to work at all that would be the one.
  • zaikozaiko Join Date: 2002-11-23 Member: 9716Members
    <!--QuoteBegin---=YG=-NightFall+Nov 23 2002, 03:36 AM--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (-=YG=-NightFall @ Nov 23 2002, 03:36 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->I've tried out test1.zip and it works fine with ns1

    Thx m8<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    how does your plugins.cfg look?
  • MarlboroMarlboro Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2585Members
    Just like to say this topic helped me immensely, as whenever I installed adminmod on my NS server, no one would be able to connect. After recompiling the adminmod and amx so's, it worked perfectly. Yay!
  • localhost2600localhost2600 Join Date: 2002-12-04 Member: 10448Members
    edited December 2002
    DRGiggles

    I just gotta say YOU RULE!!!!!
    I spent 3 hours trying to get adminmod to work before i found your post
    And thanks for the precompiled ones, saved me some headache

    EDIT*** I think i spoke too soon, the test files didn't work, game loads now but its like admimmod just isn't there. Gonna try the recompiles now.
Sign In or Register to comment.