-wadinclude Help Needed

ChromeAngelChromeAngel Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 14Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
<div class="IPBDescription">Grrr.</div> I'm trying to include my custom textures from my wad (ns_ca.wad) in the BSP for my map. I understand this is done using the -wadinclude parameter of CSG. I've tried this several times but it never seems to work. Here's the CSG part of the log from my latest compile. Can you tell me what's going wrong?

hlcsg v2.5.3 rel Custom Build 1.4 (Jan 15 2002)
Zoner's Half-Life Tools -- Custom Build
Based on code modifications by Sean 'Zoner' Cavanaugh
Based on Valve's version, modified with permission.
Submit detailed bug reports to (merlinis@bigpond.net.au)
----- BEGIN hlcsg -----
Command line: F:\FPS\HL\nstr\tools\hlcsg.exe -hullfile F:\FPS\HL\nstr\nshulls.txt f:\fps\hl\worldcraft\maps\ns_11th_hr -wadinclude NS_CA.wad


-= Current hlcsg Settings =-
Name | Setting | Default
---------------------|-----------|-------------------------
threads [ 1 ] [ Varies ]
verbose [ off ] [ off ]
log [ on ] [ on ]
developer [ 0 ] [ 0 ]
chart [ off ] [ off ]
estimate [ off ] [ off ]
max texture memory [ 4194304 ] [ 4194304 ]
priority [ Normal ] [ Normal ]

noclip [ off ] [ off ]
null texture stripping[ on ] [ on ]
clipnode economy mode [ on ] [ on ]
onlyents [ off ] [ off ]
wadtextures [ on ] [ on ]
skyclip [ on ] [ on ]
hullfile [ F:\FPS\HL\nstr\nshulls.txt ] [ None ]
min surface area [ 0.500 ] [ 0.500 ]
brush union threshold [ 0.000 ] [ 0.000 ]

Using mapfile wad configuration
Wadinclude list :
[zhlt.wad]
[NS_CA.wad
]

Loading hull definitions from 'F:\FPS\HL\nstr\nshulls.txt'
entering f:\fps\hl\worldcraft\maps\ns_11th_hr.map
51 brushes (totalling 302 sides) discarded from clipping hulls
CreateBrush:
(17.98 seconds)
SetModelCenters:
(0.00 seconds)
CSGBrush:
(15.63 seconds)
Using WAD File: \fps\hl\valve\halflife.wad
Using WAD File: \fps\hl\ns\ns.wad
Using WAD File: \fps\hl\ns\ns_ca.wad
Texture usage is at 3.46 mb (of 4.00 mb MAX)
34.64 seconds elapsed

----- END hlcsg -----

Comments

  • nrbynrby Join Date: 2002-03-05 Member: 270Members
    add -nowadtextures to csg, it auto includes all textures and you won't need to specify each wad.
  • ChromeAngelChromeAngel Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 14Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    If I did that the filesize of my BSP would go up. I really only want to include my custom textures and not the 3.3 meg of NS standard textures i'm using. Does the technique of naming the WADs you want textures from just not work?
  • GreedoGreedo Bounty Hunter Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 37Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    Have you tried giving the wad a path like you did with the hullfile? It's possible that the compile tools just aren't finding it.
  • ChromeAngelChromeAngel Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 14Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    I have tried it with the full path to the WAD file. No joy.

    <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='sad.gif'><!--endemo-->
  • WolvWolv Join Date: 2002-01-25 Member: 56Members
    <i>[NS_CA.wad
    ]</i>
    That extra line before the ] seems a bit suspicious. I assume there's something going wrong with setting this custom parameter in WC. I don't use WC myself, so don't know what it could be, but here are some things that may help:

    - Have you tried using a batch file?
    - Have you tried using ns_ca.wad instead of NS_CA.wad?
    - -wadinclude only needs a part of the path to the .wad file. So just ns_ca should suffice.
    - Switching to the <a href='http://coding.valve-erc.com/users/3/files/zhlt253-161.zip' target='_blank'>latest build</a> of the custom ZHLT can't hurt and throw in the <a href='http://spirit.valve-erc.com/files/TexLightSwitch04.zip' target='_blank'>rad modifications</a> while you're at it.
  • ChromeAngelChromeAngel Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 14Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    Using a batch file got rid of the extra line break, thanks Wolv. I downloaded those tools and tried again, however HL is still asking for my WAD when I start my map. <!--emo&???--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/confused.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='confused.gif'><!--endemo-->

    This is like the very last thing I need to do before releaseing this map. Grrr.
  • Cash_Car_StarCash_Car_Star Join Date: 2002-11-03 Member: 6448Members
    This may mean nothing, but try tossing it in before you list the map in the commandline. I would also suspect the capitalization.
  • nrbynrby Join Date: 2002-03-05 Member: 270Members
    Make sure the wad is in the same location as the compile tools.
  • ChromeAngelChromeAngel Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 14Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    edited November 2002
    I placed my WAD in the same directory as my compile tools and tried again, still no joy.

    C.C.S. I'm not sure I understand you. I have tried NS_CA and ns_ca and NS_CA.WAD and ns_ca.wad and the same again with their full paths.

    [edit]
    I just read up on that wad.cfg that come with that version of hlcsg. It looked like it might do the job so I add the following section.
    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    ns
    {
    f:\fps\hl\valve\halflife.wad
    f:\fps\hl\ns\ns.wad
    include f:\fps\hl\hammer\tools\NS_CA.wad
    }
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    Then I added "-wadconfig ns" to my hlcsg command line. When I tried this is spat out the following.

    <!--c1--></span><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->
    Warning: no wadfiles are specified in configuration 'ns' --
    <!--c2--></td></tr></table><span class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

    The paths in the wad.cfg are all correct, even down to the case, yet it still doesn't recognise my configuration...

    Maybe it just can't handle the concept of an F: drive. I'll move everything over to C: tommorow and try again.

    [/edit]
  • ChromeAngelChromeAngel Join Date: 2002-01-24 Member: 14Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    I just moved everything needed for compilation into a folder on my C: drive and it started working.

    <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html/emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' valign='absmiddle' alt='tounge.gif'><!--endemo-->

    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'>11th Hour - Coming Soon </span>
Sign In or Register to comment.