Bind For Chuckle?

2»

Comments

• dave_hdave_h Join Date: 2002-11-13 Member: 8528Members
    Ok, now I'm taking a lot of flack for my comments about how scripting rewards motivated players and such. What doesn't seem to be taken into consideration is the context of my statements. They are in response to <u>why people want or like to use scripts</u> and, self-admittedly, they have no bearing on the discussions about what is or is not fair.

Someone also mentioned that it's not fair to the 10 year-olds out there that haven't been to "scripting school." Well, harsh as it may sound, I just don't care about those players. Since I'm not on the marketing team, I don't have to worry about demographics, gender and/or age appeal.

Also, It's been mentioned that all one has to do is click a few hyperlinks and you're now a card-carrying member. What's really funny is the fact that this ability is actually a valuable career skill! I've been working as a software engineer for over 10 years now, and you would not believe how inept the professional public can be. We have <u><b>PROGRAMMERS</b></u> that come to work for us and can't seem to figure out one thing on their own. They don't seem to know how to use the web as a research tool and they actually have requested that the IT staff download and install an SDK or API for them! Funny as it may sound, there are a lot of people out there who genuinely do not have the experience necessary to locate, download and install a script. If a game they like to play motivates them to begin learning these omfg-so-basic skills, encourage them! Now many of you are probably thinking by this point that I'm full of ****, but mark my words, you'll see this in your career paths soon enough.