Need General Help And Lots Of It

The_Evil_OneThe_Evil_One Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31392Members
Alright, the name pretty much says it all... I need lots of help from getting my trigger_push to work properly, to having some weird leak problem. If anyone can help, thanks, if not, thats ok too.

1) I get this really weird LEAK on my map, and its really rather annoying. Its not like a regular leak, because I went around the entire map looking for a leak, and no luck. The leak says its originating at my info_player_start, so I decided to delete it, then it tells me its coming from my other info_player_start, and so on. Heres the error I get:

<!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->
Leak pointfile generated

SolidBSP [hull 1] 500...812 (0.14 seconds)
Warning: === LEAK in hull 1 ===
Entity info_player_start @ ( 356,-235, 269)
SolidBSP [hull 2] 500...731 (0.13 seconds)
Warning: === LEAK in hull 2 ===
Entity info_player_start @ ( 356,-235, 269)
SolidBSP [hull 3] 500...793 (0.14 seconds)
Warning: === LEAK in hull 3 ===
Entity info_player_start @ ( 356,-235, 269)
1.69 seconds elapsed

-----   END   hlbsp -----
<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

2) My trigger_push. Heres what I need to know, since I cant get it working. Do you make another func_wall and then point the trigger_push to the func_wall, or do you just make the trigger_push and when the player enters that area, it will move the player.

3)wPoly count. Is there any extra parameters or ANYTHIGN I can do to lower it. I've been having problems with my wPoly count for some time and have been having to change the construction of my map around the count to try and fix it, but then it seems that after I move on I just get even more fo a wPoly problem. Any pointers I can get there?

More questions coming soon, I know ill need more help <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.natural-selection.org/forums/html//emoticons/sad-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->

Comments

  • The_Evil_OneThe_Evil_One Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31392Members
    Alright, in the way of wPoly. I've decided to take every shape on the map, and everything that has a non-showing side, turn the non-showing sides to a simple black texture, whether that works or not, oh well, atleast it gives me something to do.

    Any other suggestions on how to help the wPoly situation? <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • MADMEEMADMEE Join Date: 2004-07-23 Member: 30059Members
    putting black on the sides of brushes that arnt in game wont help, as they are removed at compile.

    doing a full VIS may reduce wpolys in some places, but theres a good chance it will stay the same or go up.

    the best thing to do is to put wire frame on (gl_wireframe 1 or 2)

    gl_wireframe 1 will just show you the polys that u can see infront of you. this will allow you to see if you have anything carving into a brush and making loads of little polys.

    gl_wireframe 2 will show you not just the polys that you can see but also the polys that are being drawn around the corner. youll notice as you move around your map how the engine is drawing stuff out of your view. now if you havent done a full vis or you perhaps have some leaf saw into portal errors you may see that at times areas far away from where you actually are beeing drawn. therefore increasing your poly count to include stuff you carnt even see!

    some hint brushes mayb in order or perhaps some vis blocking brushes (means changing your map a bit)

    if you do find you have brushes carving into each other making a mess of your map you could try making one of the brushes a func_wall or leaving 1 unit between them. of course make sure you dont create leaks by doing that. pipe work and cylinders are big causes of messing up polys.

    also null as many surfaces as you can in places the player will never be able to see. say you move a box 1 unit from the gound to stop it carving into the floor, put null on the bottom of the box.
  • KesterKester Join Date: 2004-02-21 Member: 26770Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin-The Evil One+Sep 13 2004, 02:06 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (The Evil One @ Sep 13 2004, 02:06 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> 1) I get this really weird LEAK on my map, and its really rather annoying. Its not like a regular leak, because I went around the entire map looking for a leak, and no luck. The leak says its originating at my info_player_start, so I decided to delete it, then it tells me its coming from my other info_player_start, and so on. Heres the error I get:

    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->
    Leak pointfile generated

    SolidBSP [hull 1] 500...812 (0.14 seconds)
    Warning: === LEAK in hull 1 ===
    Entity info_player_start @ ( 356,-235, 269)
    SolidBSP [hull 2] 500...731 (0.13 seconds)
    Warning: === LEAK in hull 2 ===
    Entity info_player_start @ ( 356,-235, 269)
    SolidBSP [hull 3] 500...793 (0.14 seconds)
    Warning: === LEAK in hull 3 ===
    Entity info_player_start @ ( 356,-235, 269)
    1.69 seconds elapsed

    -----   END   hlbsp -----
    <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    2) My trigger_push. Heres what I need to know, since I cant get it working. Do you make another func_wall and then point the trigger_push to the func_wall, or do you just make the trigger_push and when the player enters that area, it will move the player.

    3)wPoly count. Is there any extra parameters or ANYTHIGN I can do to lower it. I've been having problems with my wPoly count for some time and have been having to change the construction of my map around the count to try and fix it, but then it seems that after I move on I just get even more fo a wPoly problem. Any pointers I can get there? <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    1 - a leak isn't caused by the entitiy, thats is just where it starts, all point ents must be inside the playable area, without a line to the void (outside of the map) this line doesnt have to be a straight line and can infact wind quite along way thru ur level before it finds an exit to the void.

    to find it load up hammer, and goto map (up the top) -> load pointfile and select the pts file that was created when ur compile was done (if there isnt a pts file and ur using nem's batch compiler goto the batch tab and make sure delete pts file isnt checked)

    If ur using the beta of hammer which i strongly recommend u do it shud show alot of colored lines running around the 4 views (the 3d view is the important one). Now in the 3D view locate the entity that ur compile said caused the leak and that hopefully shud be the start of a red line. Just follow that line untill it exits into the void, and ur leak hopefully shud be around there.

    2 - I've never used the trigger_push but I think it works as just the trigger_push, u set a direction in the ent dialog and a speed of push. To have a direction of up, u shud click the drop down box below the top directional circle and select up.

    3 - MADMEE pretty much has all the advise i wud of given on that, and like he said use the null texture rather than the black one, null will be removed from the compile therefore wont add the wpoly
  • EnceladusEnceladus Join Date: 2004-01-18 Member: 25442Members
    actually an entity in the void will give back leak error aswell.
  • KesterKester Join Date: 2004-02-21 Member: 26770Members, Constellation
    func_door's and other func's cutting thru solid into the void wont actually return a leak
  • The_Evil_OneThe_Evil_One Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31392Members
    edited September 2004
    Wow, thanks a BUNCH. MADMEE, you were right with the wireframe, it seems the ceiling AND the floor are being carved to hell and making tons and tons of shapes, rather than just 1 smooth rectangle shape. Now to fix it <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->

    can you only see when that happens AFTER compile?
  • KesterKester Join Date: 2004-02-21 Member: 26770Members, Constellation
    u can only see it after u compile, but u can figure it out in hammer. my pic shows how
  • BulletHeadBulletHead Join Date: 2004-07-22 Member: 30049Members
    wait, so how do you fix that? bevel the edge?
  • MoconnorMoconnor Join Date: 2002-07-26 Member: 1004Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-BulletHead+Sep 14 2004, 12:35 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (BulletHead @ Sep 14 2004, 12:35 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> wait, so how do you fix that? bevel the edge? <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    nope, theres no way to avoid this, its the way the engine works.

    But func_wall does not do this atall but I wouldnt advise making everything that touches another piece of architechture a func_wall, only little bits that will really split up the architechture like pipes.
  • The_Evil_OneThe_Evil_One Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31392Members
    ooh, great idea. Thanks for all the help guys, im trying to make this a good looking, and smooth running map.... no siege maps for me <!--emo&:0--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/wow.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='wow.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • KesterKester Join Date: 2004-02-21 Member: 26770Members, Constellation
    remember tho func_walls dont block light so with pipes to make the lighting more realistic (if it causes a problem) make the pipe a regular world brush just make sure its 4 units off the wall, and then make another pipe only 4 units thick where it touches the wall and make these func_walls

    I hope that makes sence
  • The_Evil_OneThe_Evil_One Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31392Members
    yes, it makes perfect sense. Thanks for the great idea <!--emo&:D--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/biggrin-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='biggrin-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • The_Evil_OneThe_Evil_One Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31392Members
    Alright, my next question is about doors. Ive read previous posts about doors from people, just asking how to get them to work. Heres what im trying to get to happen.

    On co_angst (and I think every other map with doors ive seen that use trigger_presence) when you walk into the trigger_presence area, the door opens, then when the door closes, if youre still in the presence area, the door reopens. I have been messing around, and cant seem to get that effect, if youre standing there when the door closes, it just closes.

    Heres my settings:
    -Every door has 2 trigger_presence (1 on each side of the door)
    -the doors settings are all default except name (door_name) and speed 150
    -every presence has a setting in the activation target field set to the name of the door it activates (I hope that makes sense)

    How do I get the door to reopen if someone is still in the doorway? I was going to leave it the way it is, but then if a skulk were to camp on one side of a door, and someone were to open... well it would just be messy and rather stupid <!--emo&::skulk::--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/skulk.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='skulk.gif' /><!--endemo-->

    Thanks in advance
  • KesterKester Join Date: 2004-02-21 Member: 26770Members, Constellation
    afaik there isnt a way around it. (might be wrong tho)

    You only need one trigger_presence tho, just have 1 going thru to both sides of the door
  • The_Evil_OneThe_Evil_One Join Date: 2004-09-05 Member: 31392Members
    the scary question of the day... env_particles_custom.... need help <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->

    Alright, im trying to use the sprite sprites/xspark1.spr for a sparking control panel, but cant seem to get it to work. I have a few questions about this, including how do you know how many frames the sprite has? (is there some program that you can view them in and it will tell you?). And how should I know what to put for the other settings.

    Plz help this stupid noob <!--emo&???--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/confused-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='confused-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
Sign In or Register to comment.