This Script Ok?

sean6sean6 Join Date: 2004-05-19 Member: 28754Members
<div class="IPBDescription">a fast switch script (for slot3 weapon)</div> ok I found out that the reason why I don't kill many rines as a skulk is because I cant leap - bite - leap quickly. to solve this I wrote a script so whenever I hold down right-mouse it changes to the leap weapon, and attacks. when I release it, I stop attacking and go back to the bite weapon. here it is:

<!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias "+nonToggleSlot3" "slot3; wait; +attack"
alias "-nonToggleSlot3" "-attack; wait; slot1"
bind MOUSE2 +nonToggleSlot3<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->

I want to know 2 things:
1. could I improve on this script?
2. could this be considered cheating? (and if so would that same person be considering all scripts illegal?)

Comments

  • IsamilIsamil Join Date: 2003-11-25 Member: 23552Members, Constellation
    That script is totally worthless.
    Use the lastinv command to switch between leap and bite.
    Its not cheating, however it might not work in an mp_blockscripts server(Its totally worthless anyway, leap/bite scripts, blink/swipe scripts, etc. They're all useless, lastinv gives more control.
  • WarningForeverWarningForever Join Date: 2004-05-06 Member: 28503Members
    I have my weapon 1 bound to mwheelup and my weapon 2 bound to mwheeldown.
    ...
    Yea, I'm a bad skulk, but it works for rines and fades.
  • sean6sean6 Join Date: 2004-05-19 Member: 28754Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Isamil+Sep 12 2004, 08:45 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Isamil @ Sep 12 2004, 08:45 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> That script is totally worthless.
    Use the lastinv command to switch between leap and bite.
    Its not cheating, however it might not work in an mp_blockscripts server(Its totally worthless anyway, leap/bite scripts, blink/swipe scripts, etc. They're all useless, lastinv gives more control. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    lastinv may give more control but i've tried this and my kills have doubled! got 20 kills 4 deaths in my last game <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->. why do you consider it totally useless?<!--emo&???--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/confused-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='confused-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->??
  • IsamilIsamil Join Date: 2003-11-25 Member: 23552Members, Constellation
    You would be better if you just learned to use lastinv?
  • TheAdjTheAdj He demanded a cool forum title of some type. Join Date: 2004-05-03 Member: 28436Members, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    edited September 2004
    Get leap as skulk. Press 1, then 3. When you see a marine, leap at him, press the lastinv button you handily bound to a key you can press easily, then bite. Repeat until said marine dies. Leap/bite scripts lack the dynamics that lastinv allows for, don't get adjusted to playing with one. Lastinv is far more versatile. If you need help with something, just pm me.
  • cryptcrypt Join Date: 2004-04-22 Member: 28091Members, Constellation
    1. If you want to improve the script, you can delete the 2. wait, but it can cause trouble for you if you have low-fps.

    <!--c1--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>CODE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='CODE'><!--ec1-->alias "+nonToggleSlot3" "slot3; wait; +attack"
    alias "-nonToggleSlot3" "-attack; slot1"
    bind MOUSE2 +nonToggleSlot3<!--c2--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--ec2-->
    this way it would look like my script, only with another alias-name

    2. You can fint thousands of threads about thin in the forum. Basicly: No, it is no cheating. Some ppl say this script would give you an advantage, other that it is just a customization because scripting is part of the engine... (yea, really complicated issue).
    As already said, this script will no work on a server with blockscripts enabled
  • sean6sean6 Join Date: 2004-05-19 Member: 28754Members
    edited September 2004
    the reason I created this script is thus:
    I believe that the alien weapons in the game (i.e. bite, leap etc..) should not be weapons at all I think they should be abilities. like the marine has many abilities 2 of which are 'use' and to 'fire' his weapon. now a marine can execute any of these abilities using only one button. but the alien requires 2 buttons minimum to use an ability (e.g. leap, bite). I'm simply trying to reduce the complexity, allowing me to use the alien's skills as natural as a 'real' alien would in real life.

    also I think the use of lastinv is just preference and I personally would not benefit from this as I sometimes have problems with lastinv (dont ask why its complex).
  • MarineAnimalMarineAnimal Join Date: 2004-05-14 Member: 28676Members
    hud_fastswitch 1

    And your done.
  • sean6sean6 Join Date: 2004-05-19 Member: 28754Members
    even hud_fastswitch requires 2 clicks
    lets say im biting and i want to leap, first hit 3 then left-mouse
    with script its just right-mouse <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile-fix.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • pGc-ProdigypGc-Prodigy Join Date: 2003-12-05 Member: 23970Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-sean67+Sep 12 2004, 07:45 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (sean67 @ Sep 12 2004, 07:45 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> even hud_fastswitch requires 2 clicks
    lets say im biting and i want to leap, first hit 3 then left-mouse
    with script its just right-mouse <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile-fix.gif' /><!--endemo--> <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    no it doesn't.
  • Soylent_greenSoylent_green Join Date: 2002-12-20 Member: 11220Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    Go ahead, but it's inflexible and pointless.
  • a_civiliana_civilian Likes seeing numbers Join Date: 2003-01-08 Member: 12041Members, NS1 Playtester, Playtest Lead
    Actually it isn't inflexible. It's not the kind of script that leaps and then bites; this merely leaps.
  • sean6sean6 Join Date: 2004-05-19 Member: 28754Members
    <!--QuoteBegin--pGc-Prodigy+Sep 12 2004, 02:16 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (-pGc-Prodigy @ Sep 12 2004, 02:16 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-sean67+Sep 12 2004, 07:45 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (sean67 @ Sep 12 2004, 07:45 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> even hud_fastswitch requires 2 clicks
    lets say im biting and i want to leap, first hit 3 then left-mouse
    with script its just right-mouse <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile-fix.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile-fix.gif' /><!--endemo--> <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    no it doesn't. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    how can you say i doesnt take at least 2 clicks???
    if im biting, and i want to leap
    1. i hit 3 (to select leap).
    2. i then hit left-mouse (to actually leap).

    please explain how that doesnt take 2 clicks?

    with my script i just
    1. hit right mouse (no matter what weapon i'm currently using)
  • Soylent_greenSoylent_green Join Date: 2002-12-20 Member: 11220Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Actually it isn't inflexible. It's not the kind of script that leaps and then bites; this merely leaps.<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    And then changes to bite, what if you want to blink and swipe or xenocide then leap, or stomp then devour, or umbra then bite or blink, metabolize, blink, blink, swipe a bunch of times, blink , metabolize... or leap, leap again, parasite, leap, bite, bite, bite, leap, bunnyhop or whatever ?

    There's a huge set of usefull combinations, if you need a script to do each one you'll quickly run out of easily accessible keys where as I need 5 keys( slot 1-4 and +attack) to do any combination just as quick and easy.
  • a_civiliana_civilian Likes seeing numbers Join Date: 2003-01-08 Member: 12041Members, NS1 Playtester, Playtest Lead
    It may switch to bite, but that doesn't mean you have to use bite. You can simply switch to another weapon, or press it again to leap again.
  • tankefugltankefugl One Script To Rule Them All... Trondheim, Norway Join Date: 2002-11-14 Member: 8641Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited September 2004
    This script is highly usefull. It just leaps, it doesn't bite. It switches to bite after you release the "leap" button, but leave you to do press your attack button and actually chomp. I have a variation of this bound to my right mouse button.

    This leaves my left hand free to use strafe for the leap curving and skulk movement since I don't have to move one of my wasd fingers up to 1-2-3-4.

    Lasinv on the right mouse button would do the trick too, but the lack of different models for leap and bite often makes me leap when I'm supposed to bite, and vica versa.

    (On blockscript servers, you have to press both mouse buttons to leap instead of the right one. Still quite handy, though.)
  • sean6sean6 Join Date: 2004-05-19 Member: 28754Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Soylent green+Sep 13 2004, 02:21 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Soylent green @ Sep 13 2004, 02:21 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Actually it isn't inflexible. It's not the kind of script that leaps and then bites; this merely leaps.<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    And then changes to bite, what if you want to blink and swipe or xenocide then leap, or stomp then devour, or umbra then bite or blink, metabolize, blink, blink, swipe a bunch of times, blink , metabolize... or leap, leap again, parasite, leap, bite, bite, bite, leap, bunnyhop or whatever ?

    There's a huge set of usefull combinations, if you need a script to do each one you'll quickly run out of easily accessible keys where as I need 5 keys( slot 1-4 and +attack) to do any combination just as quick and easy. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    what I was going to do was have 3 (identical) scripts one for each attack (don't need a 4th as they will always go back to using the primary weapon). I have a 7 button mouse so this works rather well. but with these 3 scripts I wont be restricted in any way to using bite after I leap. in fact this works well for any alien. you can execute any of the four attacks using only one button, or all four attacks using a total of 4 buttons not 7 (which is the minimum without scripts, assuming you are already using the first weapon).
  • Soylent_greenSoylent_green Join Date: 2002-12-20 Member: 11220Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin-->This script is highly usefull. It just leaps, it doesn't bite. It switches to bite after you release the "leap" button, but leave you to do press your attack button and actually chomp. I have a variation of this bound to my right mouse button.

    This leaves my left hand free to use strafe for the leap curving and skulk movement since I don't have to move one of my wasd fingers up to 1-2-3-4.<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    I have a 5 button mouse and I find it completely pointless because I'm not doing much with my right hand, I'm just aiming and I can afford to press another button without any problems. leap bite becomes: mouse5, mouse1, mouse2, mouse1, that takes something like .2 seconds if I do it as fast as I can and you usually have a second or so to do it, it's super easy scripting or not so I can't see the point.

    <!--QuoteBegin--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> </td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> what I was going to do was have 3 (identical) scripts one for each attack (don't need a 4th as they will always go back to using the primary weapon).<!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    If you don't want to go back to the primary weapon you will have to change weapons manually anyway( e.g. blink->meta->blink which is very usefull) and then you need 3 buttons for scripts + 4 buttons for slots + the fire button. And what's actually the use? It takes a tiny fraction of a second to press another button and that's three less buttons you have to remember and get used to(until you get used to it, it will actually take longer to press fewer buttons at a time but having a larger amount of them to choose from).
  • sean6sean6 Join Date: 2004-05-19 Member: 28754Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-Soylent green+Sep 14 2004, 05:00 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Soylent green @ Sep 14 2004, 05:00 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> If you don't want to go back to the primary weapon you will have to change weapons manually anyway( e.g. blink->meta->blink which is very usefull) and then you need 3 buttons for scripts + 4 buttons for slots + the fire button <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    if you dont want to use the slot1 weapon you wont have to, it's selected yes, but as all other weapons are only a click away so it wont matter.
    normally if i want to parasite, Xeno, leap, then bite i must do tap these keys:
    2, left-mouse, 4, left mouse, 3, left mouse, 1, left mouse
    thats 7 buttons i need to press.
    with my script (all three non-primary weapons scripted) i need to press this:
    mouse3, mouse5, mouse2, mouse1.
    thats 4 buttons for 4 actions. why would i need another 4 for the slots??

    in fact, it would be easier to have 4 scripts, one for each button and remove the (return to slot1).
  • Soylent_greenSoylent_green Join Date: 2002-12-20 Member: 11220Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    Well, then you only have to worry about servers with mp_blockscripts 1 and having a separate config for aliens and marines and executing it everytime you change team and possibly the slot switch delay if they haven't removed it all togheter now(if they haven't removed it, it is much smaller).

    Why would this (possible)delay matter if it is only minor? Well, you'd incur it when trying to use an attack unlike if you change the slots manually where you incur this delay when it doesn't matter(when actually changing). When actually using an attack timing is important so if it's still there that's pretty annoying.
  • VB_PhatVB_Phat Join Date: 2004-07-20 Member: 30009Members
    I just put lastinv on mouse 2
  • john_sheujohn_sheu Join Date: 2004-02-26 Member: 26917Members
    Just don't script. 3 months later, you will be better for it.
Sign In or Register to comment.