Scripts Or Whatever You Call Them

HivelordHivelord Join Date: 2003-06-21 Member: 17567Members, Reinforced - Shadow
I wanna know how to make a script like i saw this guy whenever he did something like almost run out of ammo he reloads automatically and when he builds as a gorge he auto goes Gorge: Offensive chamber placed and stuff, i wanna know like how to make them / where to get em, if anyone can help.

Comments

  • JediYoshiJediYoshi The Cupcake Boss Join Date: 2002-05-27 Member: 674Members
    bind "r" "+reload" <!--emo&::marine::--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/marine.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='marine.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • napinapi Join Date: 2003-03-01 Member: 14172Members, Constellation
    I doubt that was a script.. probably some one quick at navigation the menu, or who has a bind for OC

    and the reload thing, there are scripts out there that will auto-change weapon when you run out of ammo... i fail to see the point for one that auto-reloads as the guns already do i think :o
  • CMEastCMEast Join Date: 2002-05-19 Member: 632Members
    edited June 2004
    I learnt to script by a) just looking at the .cfg files and stuff, b) looking at other peoples scripts and c) reading the various articles you can find everywhere. I would link you to them but have to work now... besides which you can hardly move for the various HL resource sites on the internet.

    Just apply a bit of thought and logic and you can write pretty much anything you want in no time, I personally created the most kick-arse comm script (no mic at the time) ever and I could say almost anything in just 2 key pushes, the most used of which would just be double tapping the same key. Plus they were optimised for easy reading with all the key words in a sentence in bold so you could tell in a glance what was written... I was proud <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • SalvationSalvation Join Date: 2003-11-21 Member: 23300Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-shanks+Jun 9 2004, 01:56 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (shanks @ Jun 9 2004, 01:56 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> I doubt that was a script.. probably some one quick at navigation the menu, or who has a bind for OC

    and the reload thing, there are scripts out there that will auto-change weapon when you run out of ammo... i fail to see the point for one that auto-reloads as the guns already do i think :o <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    indeed

    they dont help you

    and in many cases they set you back tbh
  • redScareredScare Join Date: 2004-05-18 Member: 28752Members
    look for a scripting tutorial. And also there is a script repository thread in the customization forum.

    But for a start you want to know how to use "bind" and "alias" commands. It's very easy to learn and you can make some nice scripts just with that. Just read some and you'll realize how scripting is done. Its very easy. I've never done big and complicated scripts but I have done some useful ones for myself and friends like "buying-scripts" for CS, or blink scripts for NS.

    example:
    alias reloadandsay "impulse 2; say_team reloading, cover me"
    bind r reloadandsay

    an "alias" defines a set of commands to be run one after another. the ";" separates commands. "bind" binds a key to a command or an alias. (impulse 2 works just like "+reload;wait;-reload")

    "+" before a command is pressing the key. "-" means releasing the key. This way you can make a simple blink script like this:

    alias +blinkkk "slot 2; +attack"
    alias -blinkkk "-attack;slot 1"
    bind mouse4 blinkkk

    That (if I'm not mistaken) will make you change to blink and start running like hell when you press and hold your mouse 4 button, and will change to claws when you release it.

    Of course there are many ways to do the same thing (i.e: sometimes you can just bind directly without using alias).

    So read some and write yours <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • TastyTasty Join Date: 2003-08-05 Member: 18988Members, Constellation
    I have a fade script question, sometimes I see fades doing what looks like Swiping and Blinking at the same time. Is this a script that switches back and forth between blink and swipe? Or is it more likely that they have celerity and are just running real fast while swiping?
  • kavasakavasa Join Date: 2003-01-05 Member: 11889Members, Constellation
    edited June 2004
    It's just lastinv, tasty. Blink has momentum, so you blink in, switch to swipe, smack the guy, and woosh on by. Claws also have reach, and dead men don't impede travel, which is how you get the cool effect where a fade blinks through the guy he just killed.
  • e_Nadagaste_Nadagast Join Date: 2003-10-30 Member: 22149Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-shanks+Jun 8 2004, 10:56 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (shanks @ Jun 8 2004, 10:56 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> and the reload thing, there are scripts out there that will auto-change weapon when you run out of ammo... <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    No... there aren't. You can't make conditional statements in scripts.
  • kuperayekuperaye Join Date: 2003-03-14 Member: 14519Members, Constellation
    umm hobojoe there is a script in cs that does it for 30 shot weapons and it will automatically switched to pistol

    its easily changed into 50 shot
  • Nemesis_ZeroNemesis_Zero Old European Join Date: 2002-01-25 Member: 75Members, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Constellation
    <span style='color:white'>***Moved.***</span>

    Do <i>not</i> start discussing scripts - cheats in here, will ya?
  • Robert_PaulsonRobert_Paulson Join Date: 2003-07-29 Member: 18543Members
    There is no way to write conditional statement in scripts...

    As far as switching when you are out of ammo, the only thing that would come close is a script that when you press fire you fire your weapon on full auto, and then when you release your weapon it would switch over to pistol....


    If you would write something that would wait a specified amount of time before switching, say 5 seconds, it would lock out all keyboard controls during that time.

    As far as the blink/swipe script, that is just a script that allows you to press a button blink to the target, release button and swipe...press to blink away, once released you swipe again. Or it could be blink in, auto switch to swipe, and after swipe auto switch to blink to blink away...
  • ZaggyZaggy NullPointerException The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-12-10 Member: 24214Forum Moderators, NS2 Playtester, Reinforced - Onos, Subnautica Playtester
    Check this thread, a lot of info on scripts there:

    <a href='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=72007' target='_blank'>http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/in...showtopic=72007</a>
  • UrdUrd Join Date: 2003-05-25 Member: 16696Members, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin-Hobojoe+Jun 9 2004, 05:20 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Hobojoe @ Jun 9 2004, 05:20 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> <!--QuoteBegin-shanks+Jun 9 2004, 01:56 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (shanks @ Jun 9 2004, 01:56 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> and the reload thing, there are scripts out there that will auto-change weapon when you run out of ammo... i fail to see the point for one that auto-reloads as the guns already do i think :o <!--QuoteEnd--></td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    that's an ogc function, not a script <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Yea, that's a hack function, no script can detect your ammunition level and there are no conditional scripts in half-life.
Sign In or Register to comment.