Trying To Get Screen Shake When Onos Walks

ZabManZabMan Join Date: 2004-04-22 Member: 28095Members
Hey,
Im trying to make it so that when an onos comes near, the screen shakes. This happens when he takes steps...kind of like jurassic park.

Its the same screen shake you get when a grenade goes off, but much much less noticable. I only want it for me obviously, not for everyone, just a bit more athmosphere really.

I know C++ (MS), and ive taken a look at the HL 2.0 SDK. I believe I need to modify the client.dll, specifically using the functions:

gEngfuncs.V_CalcShake();

and

gEngfuncs.V_ApplyShake( pparams->vieworg, pparams->viewangles, 1.0 );

The second one I believe is what I need, passing it the correct parameters.

My question is...if i recompile the client.dll, will it work on public NS servers, or would i need the client.dll source of the original client.dll shipped with ns 3 or whatever?

Im presuming the NS client.dll has ns specific customisations, which wont be in the SDK...

Thanks!
ZabMan

Comments

  • douchebagatrondouchebagatron Custom member title Join Date: 2003-12-20 Member: 24581Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    i wish i knew this sort of thing, but my guess would be that the only way you could get your screen to shake when the onos walks, would be a server plugin. otherwise you would have different data then the servers, and you wouldnt connect. that would be a cool server plugin though, if you are good with stuff like that i would advise to make a plugin.
  • ChronoChrono Local flyboy Join Date: 2003-08-05 Member: 18989Members
    if you modify the clientdll itll probably give you a error when you try and join a public server
  • DrfuzzyDrfuzzy FEW... MORE.... INCHES... Join Date: 2003-09-21 Member: 21094Members
    <!--QuoteBegin-chrono5454+Apr 22 2004, 06:37 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (chrono5454 @ Apr 22 2004, 06:37 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> if you modify the clientdll itll probably give you a error when you try and join a public server <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    the exact error you see when you got a out-of-date version (like 2.0) BUT this would make a nice server plugin if you could do that <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • ChronoChrono Local flyboy Join Date: 2003-08-05 Member: 18989Members
    actualy it woudl say your client.dll differes from the server
  • CaptainChetCaptainChet Join Date: 2003-04-21 Member: 15737Members, Constellation
    you may be asking the wrong people. *EEK* programming language, i dont know any programming! *shifty eyes* gimie back my crayons!

    no seriouosly, this thread should probably be moved.
  • BijiyBijiy Fantastic Damage Join Date: 2003-11-28 Member: 23697Members
    To where exactly chet? Still this would be a pretty nifty server mod.
  • CaptainChetCaptainChet Join Date: 2003-04-21 Member: 15737Members, Constellation
    wel..uh isnt there some dev forum here? it would be a cool serv mod or an addition to the core mod, but i may only speak for myself when i this, but we arent coders...at least im not
  • Sniper_ChanceSniper_Chance Join Date: 2002-12-11 Member: 10549Members
    Uh.. Even if you did try and make the new client.dll work on NS, nothing would work right. NS uses several Server->Client messages not found in regular HL. The weapons would be completely messed up, as the client.dll would have only the event code for HLDM weapons. The popup menu would be defunct, the studio model renderer would be incompatible with NS's playermodels, and the list goes on.

    Developing a client hook would not work either, as VAC prevents Half-Life from being played online like that.

    Yet, you can make a server-side plugin that makes an Onos give other players a good old UTIL_ScreenShake or two.
  • ChronoChrono Local flyboy Join Date: 2003-08-05 Member: 18989Members
    ya that would make a awsome plugin some one should work on that <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • ZyndromeZyndrome Join Date: 2003-03-28 Member: 14974Members
    This would maybe work as a Metamod-plugin.
  • lillbrorsanlillbrorsan Join Date: 2003-08-21 Member: 20060Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
    Go to modns.org forum
  • ZabManZabMan Join Date: 2004-04-22 Member: 28095Members
    Hi,
    Thanks for all your replies, i did look for a "programming" forum, but this one was the closest i found.

    Ok, so as I presumed your all pretty much saying if I compile a new client.dll file with the standard SDK it wont work, that makes sense.

    I presume if I modified the standard SDK then I could only use this client.dll on basic half life (whatever that is, probably the offline single player version i guess), not on any mods.

    A serverside plugin would be ok i guess, it could be off by default and you could select to turn it on. Im sure the "l33t" pr0 players out there wouldnt want this on all the time <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' /><!--endemo-->

    I will check the modns site, thanks for the response.

    I dont suppose anyone (flayra hint hint!) wants to send me the source to the current client.dll so I can add this in! <!--emo&:)--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/smile.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='smile.gif' /><!--endemo-->
  • DrfuzzyDrfuzzy FEW... MORE.... INCHES... Join Date: 2003-09-21 Member: 21094Members
    edited April 2004
    flayra never reads this fourm <!--emo&:p--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/tounge.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='tounge.gif' /><!--endemo-->

    (i want my vet stats <!--emo&:(--><img src='http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/html//emoticons/sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' /><!--endemo-->)
  • Dorian_GrayDorian_Gray Join Date: 2004-02-15 Member: 26581Members, Constellation
    On the main page, it says that anyone applying for the coder job needs to sign a non-disclosure agreement in regards to the code, so yeah, I highly doubt he'd give it to you. And it still wouldn't work, as you'd have a different version. Best bet is an AMX/MM plugin, with a CVAR to make it configurable on a per-player basis or something. I'm no coder but I think it can be done. Modns.org is probably a good place to check.
Sign In or Register to comment.