New Rig / Upgrade for NS2 - Help Please :-)

Cheile-61Cheile-61 UK Join Date: 2015-04-19 Member: 203629Members
Hi guys, NS2 is the only game I really love on the PC, and my mother board just packed in. I had a Phenom ii x4 955 I think? overclocked to I can't remember what. I always had issues running the game however, as my pc got older, things just kept getting slower.

I had all my settings off almost, or on low, and a very low res, I think 1024 x 748 (Can't remember!) but in late game my game would freeze up a lot completely.

So to the point I'm a musician and I travel a lot gaming isn't that important to me but trying to live without NS2 has been hard so I may want to buy a new motherboard / CPU that can run in comfortably in medium settings and at least serve me for other purposes (be great if its a quiet build and I can use it for a music work station in the future as I plan to get more into Ableton live and even digital / photoshop art etc.

Thing is I'm on a very tight budget, (I'd like to get cpu/mobo/ram for £200 or under) I already have my laptop for music production, it serves for now, (i5 2430M 2.4gz - 3.0 gz turbo).

I'm hopelessly confused because I'm out of touch with tech... I've looked at....

i5 - 4460 : OK processor but get the vibe there's not much more you can do with it (No over clocking)
i5 - 4670k : Seems a standard choice but maybe too pricey for me, I only want to play NS2 really...
FX-8350 : Just about in my price range but not keen on how inefficient and hot it seems to run. Also beaten by i5 single core. (NS2 only makes use of two cores right?)

I'm a bit of an environmentalist and will pay a little more for something more efficient that will save even a little on bills and be quieter. That's why intel appeals a bit more, despite the higher cost.