NS2 Immersion Mod - Development Thread

IronsoulIronsoul Join Date: 2011-03-12 Member: 86048Members
Hello! I am building a mod for ns2. I call it Immersion. The goal of the mod is to add features that enhance the player's suspension of disbelief. I'm new to programming and modding so I'll need a bunch of help from the more experienced modders. I also hope to create some documentation for ns2 modding along the way.

I'll be asking questions in this thread about the various problems I'm trying to solve and I hope to get pointers on where to go to solve those problems.

The first feature I'm trying to implement is a finite resource pool. Firstly I'm working on the function; a finite amount of res hard coded into a global variable.
The problems with this is: I need this to run server side but I will be needing to send the value of res remaining to the clients connected. I haven't a clue where to start there.
The other problem is: Where do I put the variable? I'm looking in the code and will probably find it but tips would speed this up considerably.

Thanks for reading! Prethanks for the advice!

Comments

• SantaClawsSantaClaws Denmark Join Date: 2012-07-31 Member: 154491Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    I've always been in favour of the finite resource pool - it helps against the turtle stale-mates.
  • IronsoulIronsoul Join Date: 2011-03-12 Member: 86048Members
    Anyone? I'm a bit stuck here.
  • McGlaspieMcGlaspie www.team156.com Join Date: 2010-07-26 Member: 73044Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Squad Five Gold, Reinforced - Onos, WC 2013 - Gold, Subnautica Playtester
    Just going off memory...take a look at ResourceTower.lua, ResourcePoint.lua, and PlayingTeam.lua
  • Soul_RiderSoul_Rider Mod Bean Join Date: 2004-06-19 Member: 29388Members, Constellation, Squad Five Blue
    edited July 2014