"server Not Responding"

blackholedreamsblackholedreams Join Date: 2004-02-04 Member: 26023Members
<div class="IPBDescription">...</div> OK, so I'll admit I'm a bit of a newbie as far as running a dedicated server goes. However, I looked at Vadakill's guide and followed it and got one up and running on another PC in my house. I'm using the command line based HLDS, and run my server with a batch file. I've had several of my friends on it and had no problem with it. I stopped using it for a few weeks (2 or 3) and now tonight I tried running it again. My friend has the server stored in his favorites, but when he tried to join it said my server had a ping of 2000 and wasn't responding. Now, I was running around inside my server(from the computer I usually play on) and everything seemed fine. So my question is, why has it randomly stopped working and what can I do to fix it? (also, I ran hldsupdate tool again but that didn't help...)

Comments

• DEADscottDEADscott Join Date: 2003-03-29 Member: 15022Members, Constellation
    Running on a cable modem? Has your IP changed?
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester
    edited March 2004
    That kinda points to a connection issue. Lets lay it out, shall we? You played a few weeks ago and everything worked fine. You left the machine off collecting dust until a couple days ago. Now, when you start the server, you can join and run around and other people can see the server but, when they join the pings go up to 2000. To me that sounds like a internet connection issue.

Try running a bandwidth test to see if your upstream has changed significantly. Also, make sure you aren't using the connection for anything else...no bittorrent/kazaa/pr0n downloads going on in the background for ANY of the machines on your network.
    2000 ping and not resonding......

Bet hes on a cable modem and his IP has changed.