Trying To Run 2 Steam Servers On One Machine

aufweidersienaufweidersien Join Date: 2003-11-06 Member: 22332Members Posts: 8
i've done it before but now it's messed
i type the create command and i get this

CODE
Checking bootstrapper version ...
Creating Account
AuthenticationServerRSAPublicKey failed signature verifcation


there 2 comepletly different instalations of hlds_l_1120_full.tgz

helpz.

Comments

  • aufweidersienaufweidersien Join Date: 2003-11-06 Member: 22332Members Posts: 8
    also i get this when i start up the server with -autoupdate

    CODE
    Auto detecting CPU
    Using Pentium II Optimised binary.
    Auto-restarting the server on crash
    Updating server using Steam.
    Checking bootstrapper version ...
    Updating Installation
    Updating 'Linux Server Engine' from version 0 to version 5
    ContentServer rejected client's protocol version
    Mon Dec  1 14:41:40 CST 2003: Steam Update failed, ignoring.


    wow i sure hate steam.
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Members, NS1 Playtester Posts: 874
    what have you tried on your own to fix the problem. Just want to know so I don't tell you to do things you've already done. Try looking at my guide appended to my signature.
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • aufweidersienaufweidersien Join Date: 2003-11-06 Member: 22332Members Posts: 8
    I'm doing everything right. The first server sets up fine and updates... but the 2nd server does not do this.

    I've tried...

    -Copying the entire working hlds_l folder and then updating... no go.
    and everything else... blah!

    My next option is to create a hlds installation and make it just for updating.. then i will delete all the files not needed. So all that is left are the file that get updated. Then I will update that install THEN copy the folder and overwrite it with the other installations...

    *flips steam off*

    Why can't you just start the gawd damn server up and the server updates it self without havin to be shut down and broght back up etc.. It's just a huge pain in the ****. And the fact u have to make up some random email for a login name is just retarded. Just update the damn server and get it over with.

    *spell check*
  • devicenulldevicenull Join Date: 2003-04-30 Member: 15967Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue Posts: 1,540
    Are you running them from the same directory? That may cause problems if its the same mod.. Being on linux you can symlink 90% of the files so that you only have to update one. I would say keep seperate config files, and possibly a different hlds

    Or you could not autoupdate, and just run hldsupdatetool when hl is updated (I made a nice little batch file for mine in windows)

    Oo.. if the 2nd server is running a non-official mod, it *will* not update, let me guess, the first is cs and the second is ns?

    Get the update packages from steampowered.com - They offer the dedicated server updates seperate
    Rent NS2 Dedicated Servers at www.gameservers.com
  • LumpyLumpy Join Date: 2003-08-20 Member: 20026Members Posts: 57
    edited December 2003
    I'm currently running 3 DoD 1.1 servers with only one installation of steam and of DoD. Don't need to make multiple copies of anything. I just start the servers using different startup commands.

    And just so I knew I wasn't somehow full of **** I ran both a DoD 1.1 and CS 1.6 server the same way at the same time. Worked great.

    I've never had a problem with autoupdate the few times I played around with it. However I don't use it as in the case of a server crash it just makes it take that much longer to restart itself. (Though after just trying it again it doesn't take nearly as long as I remember it doing the last time.)

    If my memory isn't too foggy I believe there may be some benefits to having multiple installs. I can't recall them though. I guess I'd take ease of use and functionability over possible benefits that I can't remember.

    Server 1)
    screen -A -m -d -S dod ./hlds_run -game dod +log on +maxplayers 16 +map dod_avalanche +port 27015

    Server 2)
    screen -A -m -d -S dod2 ./hlds_run -game dod +log on +maxplayers 16 +map dod_avalanche +port 27016

    Server 3)
    screen -A -m -d -S dod3 ./hlds_run -game dod +log on +maxplayers 16 +map dod_avalanche +port 27017
    user posted image
  • ShockwaveShockwave If a packet drops on the web and nobody's near to see it... Join Date: 2002-11-19 Member: 9336NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, Constellation Posts: 3,730 mod
    Lumpy, do yourself a favour. Do it this way and it'll autorestart in the event of a crash.

    CODE

    screen -S dod
    vi startdodserver

    while true; do
            screen -A -m -d -S dod ./hlds_run -game dod +log on +maxplayers 16 +map dod_avalanche +port 27015
    done

    chmod u+x startdodserver
    ./startdodserver
    CTRL-A, D

    That way the server will be in it's own screen, and you can access it at will using the name dod, and the server itself will autorestart. You can add logging etc in there too if you need to.
  • LumpyLumpy Join Date: 2003-08-20 Member: 20026Members Posts: 57
    I didn't post everything I do actually. I already have a file called dod that is executable and has the following contents.

    cd /home/panda/steam
    screen -A -m -d -S dod ./hlds_run -game dod +log on +maxplayers 16 +map dod_avalanche +localinfo mm_gamedll sturmbot/dlls/sturmbot-i486.so -debug

    It already does auto restart for me, and I can access it at will via a screen -r dod.

    I didn't include all of that before as I was just trying to prove that you only need one installation of hlds/steam and the mod itself to run multiple servers.
    user posted image
  • ShockwaveShockwave If a packet drops on the web and nobody's near to see it... Join Date: 2002-11-19 Member: 9336NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, Constellation Posts: 3,730 mod
    Okay sweet. biggrin.gif

    Just trying to help.
  • RueRue Join Date: 2002-10-21 Member: 1564Members Posts: 1,451 Advanced user
    you fix it the ame way as you play HL on your own NS local dedicated server.....

    the default port is 27015, so if you try to run 2 servers on 27015.......well you can't so

    in the shortcut put -port 27016 in console biggrin.gif fixed

    then
    127.0.0.1:27016
    and
    127.0.0.1:27015

    should work fine
    The Problem With Opportunity Is That It Only Knocks,
    While Temptation Kicks The Door In


Sign In or Register to comment.