High Pings

RS_DanteRS_Dante Join Date: 2003-07-31 Member: 18649Members Posts: 15
Im a admin to realityslap cs/ns servers. They are ran on Linux boxes. It seems that in 2.0 the pings are extremely high, everyone pinging 300+. The only information I know of is what is on our about server page.

Internet Connection: (2x) T1 + 3Mb DS3 (6.0 Mb)


† Hosted By: NeXband Communications



¤ Operating System: SuSE Linux 7.3/Kernel 2.4.19 (SMP)


¤ CPU: (2x) AMD Athlon MP 1.2 GHz


¤ RAM: 1.0 GB ECC PC2100 DDR-DRAM


¤ Hard Drive: Quantum Atlas III SCSI-160 10K-RPM 36 GB


¤ Motherboard: Tyan Tiger MPx


¤ Network Card: 3Com 905C 10/100 MB


Is this a common problem with NS server? also on hlsw the server shows me pinging 60, then it times out for a few seconds, then comes back?

I also know were runnign 3.1.1.1 on it, could this be it?

I'm kindly the eyes and ears for the guy that physically messes with the server since he does not play ns. So if I am lacking information let me know and i'll find out .

Comments

  • Python_GamersDreamPython_GamersDream Join Date: 2003-08-10 Member: 19369Members Posts: 18
    Check out This thread. 3.1.1.1 might be the reason. But I must say that pings in NS are high but no one really "lags". Its common on my server so maybe its just a bad netcode in the mod.
    Ronnie "Python" Dove
    [email protected]
    GamersDream.org Owner
    irc.GamesNET.net #GamersDream
    NS @ 64.5.44.157:27015
    TFC @ 64.5.44.157:27016
    CS @ 216.52.202.88:27015
  • verboseverbose Join Date: 2002-11-25 Member: 9968Members, Constellation Posts: 681
    300 is not normal, nor are pings that are significantly higher than running any other mod on that server.
    Pigeons. Pigeons...are good too. Sometimes, they come with notes attached. It's like a fortune cookie with wings. Squirrels!
  • RS_DanteRS_Dante Join Date: 2003-07-31 Member: 18649Members Posts: 15
    they are atleast 2-3x higher on ns then any other server on that box...

    my adminstrator of the server attempted to put 2.01c on it a lil bit ago, that failed.. it crashed at startup so were back to 2.0....


    any suggestions? could it just be the box can't handle 2.0 too well?
  • Python_GamersDreamPython_GamersDream Join Date: 2003-08-10 Member: 19369Members Posts: 18
    The thread I mentioned earlier downgrades from HLDS 3.1.1.1 because there is a lot of performance issues. I did exacly as they said and it had a good outcome. I now can run TFC + NS on same box without a lot of problems.
    Ronnie "Python" Dove
    [email protected]
    GamersDream.org Owner
    irc.GamesNET.net #GamersDream
    NS @ 64.5.44.157:27015
    TFC @ 64.5.44.157:27016
    CS @ 216.52.202.88:27015
  • RS_DanteRS_Dante Join Date: 2003-07-31 Member: 18649Members Posts: 15
    I discoverd joevs fixed version of 2.01c for linux and sent hmi that smile.gif we are now running 2.01c.. i havent' played a game in it yet so we'll see how it does.
  • saubloedsaubloed Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 3996Members Posts: 112
    QUOTE (Python | GamersDream @ Aug 11 2003, 07:36 AM)
    The thread I mentioned earlier downgrades from HLDS 3.1.1.1 because there is a lot of performance issues. I did exacly as they said and it had a good outcome. I now can run TFC + NS on same box without a lot of problems.

    If your HLDS 3.1.1.0 sever is connected to the internet you will have to restart it every day or so because there is a DoS security hole and a buffer overflow secuirty hole.

    http://www.securityfocus.com/bid/8300/info/
    http://www.securityfocus.com/bid/8301/info/
  • Python_GamersDreamPython_GamersDream Join Date: 2003-08-10 Member: 19369Members Posts: 18
    As I said before, check out this thread. Its pinned in the server area for admins to do. This downgrades HLDS and fixes the exploit mentioned (I believe). Since no one has went to the thread yet here it is:

    QUOTE
    Hi.

    We NS server ops mostly still run HLDS x.1.1.0 on our servers, because of the performance problems x.1.1.1 has.

    Recently there's an exploit to crash x.1.1.0 servers so in this thread I'll explain you the steps to install x.1.1.0, the x.1.1.0c beta, and the fix for the exploit.

    Remember: 3.1.1.0 is the Linux dedicated server, and 4.1.1.0 is the Windows one. So if you're running a Windows server and you read "x.1.1.0" here, it means "4.1.1.0". (3.1.1.0 for you penguins)


    Download & Installation of x.1.1.0 server
    Download the x.1.1.0 dedicated server files from:
    Linux: here
    Windows: here

    Run them, install as you would normally.


    Download & Installation of x.1.1.0c server patch
    Download the x.1.1.0c dedicated server beta files from:

    Linux: here (Half-Life Linux Primary Server 3.1.1.0.c Beta)
    Windows: here (Half-Life Win32 Primary Server 4.1.1.0.c Beta)

    Extract them in your HLDS directory.



    Download & Installation of the fix for the Exploit

    Windows
    Download the fix:
    http://www.pivx.com/luigi/patches/hlbof-se...er-1110-fix.zip
    Extract it. Run it. It'll patch.

    Linux
    1. Download boffix binary here. (sourcecode here)
    2. Put Boffix in your HLDS dir.
    3. Edit hlds_run:
    After the first line ("#!/bin/sh" that is), add another line:
    CODE 
    export LD_PRELOAD=./boffix_i386.so


    FreeBSD
    1. Do the first two steps of Linux installation above.
    2. Edit hlds_run, put
    CODE 
    export LD_PRELOAD=./boffix_i386.so

    Just before the lines "$HL $*"
    (There are two $HL $* lines, one for the auto-restart one and one for the norestart one, so add the "export LD_PRELOAD" line twice.

    This post has been edited by disq on Aug 2 2003, 04:55 AM



    ghore.org, your NS resource
    Ronnie "Python" Dove
    [email protected]
    GamersDream.org Owner
    irc.GamesNET.net #GamersDream
    NS @ 64.5.44.157:27015
    TFC @ 64.5.44.157:27016
    CS @ 216.52.202.88:27015
  • Rotten_FleshRotten_Flesh Join Date: 2002-11-18 Member: 9203Members Posts: 272
    edited August 2003
    QUOTE ([RS] Dante @ Aug 10 2003, 06:13 PM)
    also on  hlsw the server shows me pinging 60, then it times out for  a few seconds, then comes back?


    http://www.unknownworlds.com/forums/in...=ST&f=8&t=42373
  • SuperBOBSuperBOB Join Date: 2003-02-21 Member: 13795Members Posts: 157
    max_Queries_sec 100
    max_queries_sec_global 100
    =p

    NS CPU usage is still quite high, but its much more useable, we charge the same for an NS server as for a CS server at the moment.
Sign In or Register to comment.