Seaglide? Aside from a headlight, what good is it?

Goldengoose7Goldengoose7 California USA Join Date: 2018-04-26 Member: 240346Members
I recently started playing this game, and just crafted a Seaglide.

Wondering what the purpose of this thing is? It doesn't move me any faster than my guy can swim on his own, and it uses batteries to power it.

So... Just curious if I am missing something here, or if this vehicle is kind of the running joke in the game? (A waste of time and resources and better left off your inventory)

Based on the obvious redundancy of the Seaglide... Are all the vehicles in this game of equally questionable value? (Cyclops etc.) Just wondering if these are assets worth working towards, or if your character on his/her own can get around just as well without any of them. ??

Comments

• Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited April 2018
    Except it is a lot faster than your guy can swim, it is in fact quite a noticeable boosts to you mobility even, not sure what you're on about... Just go to the bottom of an area and count how long it takes for you to get back to the surface with and without it :) I kinda find it a bit odd you think the light is it's upside, I mean the light is acceptable when you have the room to use it. However it's also is very annoying when you're in closed in spaces. For example inside wrecks, you're better off with the flashlight.

To go deeper you are required to get the other vehicles and upgrade them. It goes a little something like this:
    • Seaglide, the additional speed boost gives you a bit more time underwater and increases the area you can explore based on your oxygen availability
      • Oxygen tanks and upgrades also help you out here
    • Seamoth,