Very curious about modding NS2

Bladerox4Bladerox4 Join Date: 2013-07-03 Member: 185887Members
edited October 2017 in Modding
<b>I am looking for other modders to give real advice and answers</b>

So I am an enviromental artist looking to do some cool stuff with NS2 as I absolutely love this game. I just have a bunch of questions...

1. Does NS2 Ranked allow model minipulation such as Adding/changing the viewmodel of a weapon. If I created a custom Knife, would it be allowed to be used in normal matches or even work at all?
2. Is it possible to minipulate pre existing Decals?
3. Is NS2 running the Spark engine after the 64bit update?
4. What is the physics engine used ingame if any?
5. Is anyone looking to make mods for this game anymore? I see a ton of random one off skins and oddly made maps and stuff here and there.

Best way to get in contact with me directly is at => -SolarTara's Steam-

Im also looking for someone who knows the engine well enough to create even a basic mod

Comments

• Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited October 2017
    1. AFAIK, view models are allowed to be disabled/moddedin ranked matches/scrims/clan wars. Those and the HUD files are on the white list in general. Anything that is actually in the world (world models/map models and textures) are not allowed to be changed. But for matches they are also using different maps, with less light entities for more FPS, and the maps are a bit brighter overall
    2. Not sure if they are whitelisted, but they are just *.dds files so they could be modded
    3. NS2 is running on the Spark engine, which now has 64-bit support
    4. Physics is running on third party plugins and libraries to support physics for both ATI/AMD and NVIDIA