Notes from a new player

QuadriplegicQuadriplegic Toronto Join Date: 2017-01-10 Member: 226492Members
(Spoilers abound! (if that is a thing here))

Hi all. I started playing Subnautica just before the Precursor update and I have really enjoyed my time with it so far. I have deliberately avoided looking at the wiki or any resources outside of the game itself up to now, and I thought I would drop off some of my collected thoughts and criticisms (mild! I swear!) before I go spoiling whatever little bits I may have missed along the way. Apologies if any of this has been covered to death or would have been obvious to me with a quick google.

1. Player direction and gameplay loops - The early game does a decent job pointing you towards new locations and presenting the resources you need to build essential tools as you follow the lifeboat signals, but I ran into a wall when I ran out of lifeboats (this was before the Sunbeam signal), because reaching those signal points is not really what the game is about.

The gameplay loop of Subnautica as I know it now is: Explore new areas -> Find new blueprints/resources -> Use blueprints/resources to build new tools -> Use new tools to access new areas to explore.

The loop presented by the signals is: Receive signal -> Go to new location -> Retrieve PDA -> Return for new signal.

In other words, I spent a long time thinking I was playing a game about recovering data, and that through recovering data, eventually I would be given new technologies I could use to upgrade my data-gathering capabilities. When I ran out of lifeboats to find but still had very few blueprints, I realized the goals presented by the game and the actual goals of the game do not line up. This worked in conjunction with the next problem to form the largest roadblock I encountered.