Unity3D Technical Limitations

HeadClotHeadClot Utah Join Date: 2009-12-20 Member: 69724Members
Hey all,

I am bringing this up as a point of concern for the Unknown worlds team. I am an artist that uses Unity3D on a regular basis. Keep in mind that I am not in anyway shape or form a Programmer. I am a hobbyist Artist at the moment and I have allot to learn when It comes to art. However I do have strong grasp on various technical things related to unity/3DS Max.

Anyway my post -

I would recommend that the Unknown world development team not use unity3D for the time being. Here is why -

1. 64 Bit Support is unavailable at the moment with unity. Unity3D is 32 Bit only in terms of editor support. I have had unity Crash in very large projects due to this.
2. Double Precision will be a BIG problem with unity3D if you decide to use it.
3. Garbage Collection - There is a big push on the Unity3D Forums for more efficient garbage collection. Link

With that said - Here is a work around or two.

Unity3D -

The Kerbal Space Program Team on the Floating Point / 64 Bit problem and how they solved it.

I really wish the best for the Unknown worlds / Subnautica team.

PS. Will you include mod tools? I am a sucker for these tools. :)

Comments

• BeigeAlertBeigeAlert Texas Join Date: 2013-08-08 Member: 186657Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS2 Developer, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Diamond, Reinforced - Shadow, Subnautica Playtester, Pistachionauts
    I think it's a little late for this... they've already started making the game.

They've said before that their first priority is the main game, then later the mod tools if they decide it's a worthwhile idea.
  • SteveRockSteveRock Join Date: 2012-10-01 Member: 161215Members, NS2 Developer, Subnautica Developer
    All your concerns are valid, and we have been experiencing plenty of crashes already. My responses: