[Idea] Research Computer

themaelstormthemaelstorm Germany Join Date: 2016-11-03 Member: 223623Members
Hey everyone!
I'm new to game and I'm loving it.

With my newbie perspective I have an idea that will help a bit with research and enable an all-game-long relevant way to find new cosmetics
I think this could also help with fan-made assets!

Why I thought this:
1) I found 1 battery charger piece somewhere... don't remember, haven't stumbled upon another.
2) I see there are variatons like chair1, 2

So, as title suggests, we can build a research computer!
This is either a separate room or built in the multipurpose room (like the bioreactor).

It has a few buttons.
Button 1: Turn on and off
Button 2: Research type: Existing patterns
Button 3: Research type: New patterns
It also has a hatch
Hatch: Load chips, has 8 slots. Once placed, can't be taken back.

It takes a few computer chips or wiring to build (honestly with how rare silver feels to me, i feel bad about this.. but let's go on)

So on the surface how it works:
You turn on the computer and it will shut down EVERYTHING in the base that requires energy, as the supercomputer requires a lot of energy. The only exception will be O2, so you can breathe.
But no fabricator, no spotlights, nothing. Energy generators work of course.

Then, depending on what research type you picked, it will start research. Default is new patterns.

The item being researched is random and it won't be revealed until half of it is complete. The pad will have a new tab for this, showing process on each supercomputer.
Once an item is being researched, this mod will fixate on this item. So turning off and on will not move you to another item.

The more complex and object, the harder it is to research.

Finally, the computer has an acceleration time, meaning the research will be initially slow and but will ramp up.

If you place better chips in the slots, you get faster research, you will also require more power.