Grounding or Beaching the Seamoth

harrzackharrzack United States Join Date: 2016-09-11 Member: 222250Members
I accidentally grounded my Seamoth on a sandy beach and WAS able to get it to move off. However I did get it grounded on the Aurora and it was impossible to get it off. Since I'm still pretty new in the game, this meant the loss of my primary transportation, putting be back to the Seaglide.

I scanned the net and forums for ideas on how to get it off and not much was found. One idea I did see was to get the Propulsion Cannon and try to knock it back a few feet. BUT - only having a Seaglide, and having to first get a blue print for it, then gather all the materials was a super fun-killer!

It should NOT be possible to ground the either the Seamoth or the Cyclops - UNLESS there is a tool in the game to free it.

What I ended up doing was to clone another Seamoth (ARRGH! - Now 2 blinking icons), to get all the needed parts to build a Propulsion Cannon. Once I had it I went back to the Aurora to try it out. Naturally the Cannon did NOT work in the Seamoth, so I was left with picking up and throwing crates at it till it blew up! Since it wasn't my fault that I lost the Seamoth that way, I continued on with the cloned Seamoth.

It would seem to be an easy fix to simply disallow the subs to get to a depth coordinate where they could no longer move.

Comments

• DaAngryCheeseDaAngryCheese Join Date: 2016-09-17 Member: 222374Members
    Hate it when that happens
  • EvilSmooEvilSmoo Join Date: 2008-02-16 Member: 63662Members
    Disagree on disallowing anything to do anything. It's fun to jump a Seamoth out of the water. It's my own responsibility to not beach the thing.

Instead, allow repulsion cannon to move Seamoth? Or some other way of booting it out of stuck situations.
  • narfblatnarfblat Utah, USA Join Date: 2016-05-15 Member: 216799Members, Forum Moderators, Forum staff
    edited September 2016