NS2News.org Poll: How important are mods to your everyday NS2 game?

PelargirPelargir Join Date: 2013-07-02 Member: 185857Members, Forum Moderators, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, WC 2013 - Silver, Forum staff
edited March 2016 in NS2 General Discussion
Controversial issue lately, your replies would help me making a new http://ns2news.org/ article (possibly). Please explain your answer.
(Examples of mods: NS2+, CompMod, Shine Administration, etc)

Crosshairs are excluded in this poll.

Comments

• FrozenFrozen New York, NY Join Date: 2010-07-02 Member: 72228Members, Constellation
    edited March 2016
    I started playing without any of the things, but I never would again unless the vanilla game was massively changed towards compmod.

I'll play NS2 Classic for sure. I'm about to. I don't appreciate not having NS2+ but its not gamebreaking for me in the same way. (Except health bars, the circles literally kill me)
  • NordicNordic Long term camping in Kodiak Join Date: 2012-05-13 Member: 151995Members, NS2 Playtester, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Supporter, Reinforced - Silver, Reinforced - Shadow
    I have tried to avoid servers that do not have ns2+, in the past. Not having ns2+ has been extremely upsetting, but it does not stop me from playing.
  • WellWell Join Date: 2006-10-04 Member: 58054Members, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited March 2016
    Mods improve tons of gameplay elements and do it fast without UWE. One or small team of mod developers can fast add new features with good players feedback. Can fix any bugs rapidly.
    But UWE team need more time to fix or change something in UI, like a terrible exo's UI which switch off by one click in NS2+ or Fade blink motion blur.
    I don't really understand why all NS2+ features still not integrated in vanilla.