CreatureConcept-The Native

claverflavclaverflav utah Join Date: 2015-06-27 Member: 205810Members
hi first time poster here, hope this is a good place for this.

First off, this game rocks!

but i feel it has such incredible potential for a deep (pun?) universe and story.

the moment i started playing this (4 days ago) i have been intrigued by the whole story section that said the ship crashed because of some sort of energy pulse, since then all i thought about was:
is there some sort of civilization on this ocean planet that shot it down? is the civilization purely aquatic? are they deep down and similar to the abyss movie creatures? .... my mind spun off on this while i played.

but it made me want to imagine some sort of intelligent species (i know, what does intelligent necessarily mean) in which i thought the basis of what we may deem intelligent is any lifeform that is both social via some sort of communication, and utilizing tools to for various goals.

and so i decided to whip out some zbrush and mess around.

tho this visual concept may not be that cool (nor even the ultra advanced civilization creatures i was imagining at first), i was hoping it would start some discussion of pack animals and smart attacks on the player, and who/what caused the energy pulse.

now im thinking these creatures should be only slightly bigger than a human, their threat is in numbers and coordination only.

49jcsfmw0iqy.jpg

Things i think these inteligent species should do.
  • Work as a team to attack either the player/player base, or (even more interestingly) some other creatures like a gasopod, stalker, sandshark, or crabsnake.
  • use tools to do it, like picking up using stalker teeth, gasopod thingys, crashs, or even using floaters to lift a rock over your base and then drop it via detaching the floaters.
  • talk to eachother in some way, players could here squeeks or chirps or something in the distance and know that the Natives are nearby.