Aggressive animals

NortonNorton Join Date: 2005-01-13 Member: 35264Members
I feel like this game would be really unique if there were no aggressive animals. I saw that you want to make animals and not monsters, and that there won't be any combat, but as soon as I started playing the game I got attacked by multiple different things. Almost every game out there has fighting as the core gameplay, and I'd really appreciate a game that decided to just not worry about that. In real life, the most interesting and enjoyable things are never fighting, so why is it in every game?

I love the exploring and the idea of building new and useful tools for exploration and discovery. I want to be able to interact with the animals in ways that aren't running from them or killing them. Maybe introducing new species to cause biomes to change, or following a school of fish to a new location. Building an underwater base and terraforming the area to make it grow resources and look nice. There have got to be options other than being eaten.

A good example I think is minecraft. The game was really fun and original and even everyone's girlfriends could play, but the combat was dismal and really didn't add much. My girlfriend was having a lot of fun playing subnautica today, but as soon as she encountered anything dangerous it kind of ruined it for her because she gets anxious about fighting in games. I think there is potential to hit a new demographic of more casual players if you can find slower paced relaxed ways to progress. She really enjoyed collecting the mushrooms and making flippers.

There are 100000 games for killing things, lets have one where you try to nurture life, or at least peacefully co-exist with it.

Comments

• trisdinotrisdino Denmark Join Date: 2012-09-16 Member: 159590Members
    So basically, you want to remove all tension from the game?

Nope.
  • NortonNorton Join Date: 2005-01-13 Member: 35264Members
    edited November 2014
    trisdino wrote: »

Nope.