My point of view as a new player and as a veteran esport gamer

NJNaonedNJNaoned France Join Date: 2013-12-04 Member: 189773Members
First of all, I am not a native english person so, I am sorry for my english level and all the mistakes I will make in the following book :D

I have been playing online video games for around 15 years. I have organized a Starcraft 2 league with most of the best European teams in 2011. I think I have quite a respectable point of view regarding the development of a video game community even if what I am going to say is certainly not perfect and may be the middle of argue.

I started to play NS2 like 4 days ago and I have already seen a lot of lack in the game. Not precisely the game itself but more around the game.

I think NS2 was made to be an esport game. It has all the requirement necessaries, what is the most needed right now is a community and a proper organization around this community.

Let's be honnest, there are not a lot of players on NS2. Even if I think this game deserves more than an average of 1K players. And what the game need the most right now is not content, is not competition but players, a community. Now the question is why are there such a low number of players ?

Today, NS2 offer only one possible kind of match : FFA. To be able to play the real game (6 vs 6) which is I think is the most interesting and fun mode, you need to find by yourself 5 other players to play with and 6 opponents. When you are a new player on the game, it's kinda impossible to do. To be honnest, FFA is fun but it gets borring quite fast. It helps you to learn about the game, to play better but it won't make people stay very long on the game (except gamers who felt inlove with the game).