Noobs Only Server

Comments

• FroztyFrozty SWEDEN Join Date: 2012-01-22 Member: 141596Members
    Interesting, i am a big noob when it comes to the "Lerk", would be fun to explore dat bat.
  • |DFA| Havoc|DFA| Havoc Join Date: 2009-08-07 Member: 68375Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    IronHorse wrote: »
    Is it okay if I keep encouraging people to use their mic /communicate? I'm big on that, especially after the many many PAX games I've tutored.

Absolutely.
    Also, if someone wishes to learn to command can i become a welding only /heal spray only player who walks them through it?

We had been allowing vets to play 'support only' for that exact purpose, due to the efforts of players like Joederp and a few others, but it's started causing problems with some vets' interpretation of what 'support only' means and racking up 30-40 kills in the process. So we've just reverted to zero tolerance for field vets, but maybe the solution is to whitelist a very small number of trusted individuals instead.

Obviously you're an old hand at this, and I trust your judgment implicitly. I'd like to set you up with admin too if you'll send me / Reckoning your steamID.
  • PaLaGiPaLaGi Join Date: 2008-01-03 Member: 63331Members, Constellation
    We also ran a server that was intended to be 'elites only', the antithesis of the noob server, so that vets and pros would have somewhere other than rookie friendly servers to play. It never got used though, people would rather jump into rookie servers and stomp than be the ones to seed. The more time I spend monitoring the noobs only server, the more apparent this becomes.

No. People don't want to sit and wait on a nearly empty server hoping it fills with competent players. It's silly to wait 30 minutes for a round to start only to hope there is a slightly better chance it will be a decent game. In my experience on that server, it never was.