NS2 ever going free? =D

Comments

• HivelordHivelord Join Date: 2003-06-21 Member: 17567Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    Kamamura wrote: »
    I will say it bluntly.

I don't want to play this game with teenage morons, hihihi, rofl, lol.

It's bad as it is, with steadily declining quality of the player base. When I started playing last December, I remember people talking and planning in always every game, planning, working as a team, doing meaningful things. Now, after a few free weekends, most games have people that don't have microphones, apparently have no clue how to play the game, can't hit #$@% and ignore the commander (if he commands at all).

I dread to imagine how it would end if the game is free.

Just no.

Damn kids get off my lawn!
  • ObraxisObraxis Subnautica Animator & Generalist, NS2 Person Join Date: 2004-07-24 Member: 30071Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, WC 2013 - Supporter, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts
    I think right now, there is no point in NS2 going F2P. It's able to keep the lights on at UWE towers and for now, it's playerbase is while small, is really dedicated.

However, if any of those were to change, I could see a case being made for NS2 going F2P. So if NS2 stopped selling copies, or the playerbase declined so much that it proved difficult to find a game, I would say there would be a real business case for NS2 to go F2P.....but not 1 min before that time.
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    TF2 has a low learning curve and has random crits so even lower skilled players can take out skilled players with some chance. F2P works in such a game even though the quality has declined a lot for TF2...

^
    --- Totally different games...
    v