Game is too frustrating

lncabinlncabin Join Date: 2013-07-10 Member: 186024Members
edited July 2013 in NS2 General Discussion
I'm fairly new to NS2 but I played NS1 so I get the jest of how this game worked.

I've been playing for a couple of weeks now and figured out how everything works.

Concerning the server list. It seems like ~75% of the servers are over 100ms, which are servers I dont consider to play on. Half of the remaining <100ms servers employ some sort of ridiculous reserved slot, 16/20, get-kicked-system. Another few rotate you back and forth between their 2 open slotted servers. This usually leaves me with like one or two servers to even pick from.

It seems like servers with over 20 players suffer from lag even if my ping is decent.

I'm Sli'ing two 550ti's and get around a constant 50-60 fps everywhere but for some reason the game feels so choppy. Like I'm getting 20 fps.

The balance in this game seems completely off. Marines, in the beginning of the round, feel way too fragile. Late game, once they reach exos, they feel way too powerful. Advanced armory items are way too easy to get and GLs and FTs are too cheap compared to their power.

Playing as an alien is extremely frustrating. The smallest bit of lag seems to fuck me over. I've witnessed a number of times that I was running behind a marine and seemed to bite him like 20 times for me to just to get owned in the end. Bit connections dont feel right at all and this becomes exacerbated when you get players that like to spam the jump button. Jumping on a marine needs a cooldown timer, seriously.

Comments

• tummy_yummytummy_yummy Join Date: 2013-05-01 Member: 185073Members, Reinforced - Gold, WC 2013 - Supporter
    edited July 2013
    This is not the way to help new people! - GISP