NS2 is too dark and please bring back mouse wheel down

NokyNoky Join Date: 2010-04-10 Member: 71295Members, NS2 Playtester, NS2 Map Tester
I'm an old ns1 vet and I've had this game pre-ordered 4 years before release. I REALLY wanted to be into this game. I played NS1 pretty much from the beginning til NS2 came out in the alpha stage. I'm having a lot of trouble getting into the game, and I'm hoping some one can help me.

Problem #1: NS2 is too dark.

It's super depressing and frustrating. Just walking around in NS2 is annoying. Everything is dark. You have to really focus to try and see something. To the point where it really hurts my eyes. I log on from time to time just to see if they've added some sort of settings so I can change the gamma. I know the game is really trying to go for scary or at least suspensful and sneaky, but I really don't play NS2 for these reasons. I dont play it for the suspense, or to sneak around. I play it to fuck shit up. I don't care if I get surprised from darkness or not. In fact all this gloomy darkness does is make playing more annoying, and depressing than anything. It's more irritating to me when I die because I can't see clearly what's on my screen. I'm not saying we should take out the darkness factor for power nodes. I'm just saying the map lighting should be improved in general to make NS2 a more pleasant experience.

If any one has been doing some sort of thing to improve this annoying feature of NS2, please let me know. Because I have been looking for any setting I can change in the console commands for gamma, but have found nothing.

Problem #2: Can't bind mousewheeldown.