Dual or quad core? Multicore rendering! Does it matter?

StimmtyStimmty Join Date: 2012-11-09 Member: 168880Members
I have a new 3570K, with a 480gtx running on my main comp but my old comp is a Q9400 yorkfield quad core running overclocked to 3.2... because of the board limits and the 8x multiplier limit. I wanted to know if I should sell my quad core processor and by a cheaper dual core and overclock it 3.6+ so me and my gf can play at the same time! Also a 9600gt. The resolution is poor but it is doable at this point! SO! CPU>GPU>MEMORY! Remember that im a broke ass college student and so is she! PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF ITS BETTER HIGHER CLOCK DUAL OR LOWER CLOCK QUAD! Multicore render?

Comments

• FrothybeverageFrothybeverage Join Date: 2003-02-15 Member: 13593Members
    As far as I know, NS2 barely uses more than a single core, and doesn't use more than two cores at all.
  • |DFA| Havoc|DFA| Havoc Join Date: 2009-08-07 Member: 68375Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    Yeah, most games are not heavily multi-threaded, and even those that benefit from multiple cores will still be limited by the primary single thread that essentially cannot be broken down past a certain point. For NS2 in particular, there was a guy who posted on this board at one point detailing a series of tests where he disabled more of his processor cores each time, and in the end he found that there was practically no difference past 2 cores, but that dropping down to 1 had a noticeable impact on performance.