Skill rating system and server side filters - aka poor rookies, aka I saw an aim botter

joederpjoederp Join Date: 2012-11-02 Member: 165992Members
edited February 2013 in Ideas and Suggestions
There are recurring topics about hacker accusations, and / or people complaining about highly skilled players ruining servers by dominating one team or the other until the server clears out.
On the flip side, I often play in non-rookie friendly servers and yet will often see complete noobs trying to comm, or just being complete wastes of space which is a huge disadvantage when everyone else in the server is decently skilled and well organized.

I think something needs to be done about this. I think there should be a built in skill rating system where you earn a skill rating of something like 1-100. This rating could be a compilation of data, some automatically collected during the game such as kills to deaths, kills to deaths in comparison to the other players, overall accuracy while in combat, rounds won vs rounds lost, and even a peer based rating. All of these factors would be combined, along with the skill rating of the server you are on (rookie, intermediate, or advanced) and influence your skill rating.

The servers would then be able to define skill filters, to only allow players within a certain range in - such as rookie 1-30, intermediate 20-75, and advanced 50-100. So the range would still be pretty broad and you would still have plenty of options for servers to join, but there would be less frustration for new players and highly skilled players alike. Rookies would no longer get stomped by someone going 45-2, organized teams would no longer have to wish the noobs computers would just explode so they leave, and pros would no longer get accused of hacking and banned from servers every day.