Where to start out as a noob?

ampereampere Join Date: 2013-01-22 Member: 181237Members
Hello there all,

I'm going to starting playing this game soon I hope and I wanted to find out whether there are servers or games that are noob friendly. I am fully expecting to suck at this game at first (I'm not very good at FPS games), but I want to change that so I want a place to learn with 2 properties:

* I will not piss off people who don't want to play with noobs.
* I will get a chance to learn without being made fun off. Because that's not cool. We all start bad and we all start with some game or another.

Any recommendations? Are there groups of relatively inexperienced players that get together to practice together?

I don't want to be that guy who screws up and makes his team lose. That's not cool and no fun for the better players. But I want a space where I can ramp up to a level where I don't make my team lose. ;-)

Thanks.

Comments

• Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited January 2013
    The clan tagged servers that are green are a good place to start out, there are usually some veteran players on there to help you out. And all green coloured servers in general are "rookie friendly" so to speak.

The game iself has a tutorial section in the menu from which you can watch tutorial videos from YouTube

And there is an explore mode in the server creation part of the game, where you are able to explore the things that are in game with tooltips to explain it, very handy for aspiring commanders as well to get familiar with the techtrees

Just be sure to tell people you are a new player and really want to learn the game (your green coloured name isn't a free ticket :P ), using your microphone to ask questions is a good thing. As well as listening to the none green players that are nice enough to guide you :)