rcon

SjNSjN Join Date: 2003-01-07 Member: 11983Members, Reinforced - Supporter
<div class="IPBDescription">to change server password, map etc... remotely</div>Is there a way to send commands to the server to change map, server password, etc...?

Comments

  • GuspazGuspaz Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2862Members, Constellation
    RCON commands can be sent from the web interface of the server. If you're in-game, you'll need something like DAK admin kit installed to do it.
  • 101ways2pwn101ways2pwn Join Date: 2012-11-06 Member: 167792Members
    edited November 2012
    <!--quoteo(post=2018378:date=Nov 10 2012, 10:38 AM:name=Guspaz)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Guspaz @ Nov 10 2012, 10:38 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2018378"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->If you're in-game, you'll need something like DAK admin kit installed to do it.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->


    Console commands "~" wont do this ingame?
  • falcfalc Join Date: 2011-03-18 Member: 87128Members
    <!--quoteo(post=2018378:date=Nov 10 2012, 05:38 PM:name=Guspaz)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Guspaz @ Nov 10 2012, 05:38 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2018378"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->If you're in-game, you'll need something like DAK admin kit installed to do it.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Thats not true. The ns2 server itself has a few admin commands that can be executed directly via console (<a href="http://www.unknownworlds.com/ns2/wiki/index.php/Dedicated_Server#Server_Admin_System" target="_blank">Wiki - Server Admin System</a>).
  • SjNSjN Join Date: 2003-01-07 Member: 11983Members, Reinforced - Supporter
    Actually I need a way of connecting to the server via telnet / TCP connection, authenticating and executing commands.

    I remember there was something like that in NS1 server. Where you'd set a rcon password, then you could access the server from anywhere and run commands to send messages to all players, change maps, set server password, etc...

    Can it currently be done with NS2?
  • Mantrain42Mantrain42 Join Date: 2012-11-08 Member: 168403Members
    <!--quoteo(post=2019831:date=Nov 11 2012, 10:20 AM:name=SjN)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (SjN @ Nov 11 2012, 10:20 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2019831"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Actually I need a way of connecting to the server via telnet / TCP connection, authenticating and executing commands.

    I remember there was something like that in NS1 server. Where you'd set a rcon password, then you could access the server from anywhere and run commands to send messages to all players, change maps, set server password, etc...

    Can it currently be done with NS2?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Would the webinterface not be sufficient for this? Must it be telnet? Take a look at the server wiki which someone else linked, there are guides to setup a webadmin interface.
  • ScardyBobScardyBob ScardyBob Join Date: 2009-11-25 Member: 69528Forum Admins, Forum Moderators, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    Your current options are:
    - Via in-game admin commands
    - Via the webadmin
    - RDPing into the server and accessing the server console directly

    The webadmin is probably the closest to a telnet-like option you're going to get.
  • SjNSjN Join Date: 2003-01-07 Member: 11983Members, Reinforced - Supporter
    <!--quoteo(post=2019898:date=Nov 11 2012, 01:17 PM:name=ScardyBob)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (ScardyBob @ Nov 11 2012, 01:17 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2019898"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Your current options are:
    - Via in-game admin commands
    - Via the webadmin
    - RDPing into the server and accessing the server console directly

    The webadmin is probably the closest to a telnet-like option you're going to get.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->


    What if I wanted to create a personal application to monitor the server which would be hosted on a different machine from the server? Sending commands using rcon in NS1 didn't take much effort. What would be the solution in NS2?

    What's RDPing?
  • devicenulldevicenull Join Date: 2003-04-30 Member: 15967Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    <!--quoteo(post=2020124:date=Nov 11 2012, 05:38 PM:name=SjN)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (SjN @ Nov 11 2012, 05:38 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=2020124"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->What if I wanted to create a personal application to monitor the server which would be hosted on a different machine from the server? Sending commands using rcon in NS1 didn't take much effort. What would be the solution in NS2?

    What's RDPing?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    HTTP. It's pretty simple to use the built in HTTP server to execute commands or retrieve information. You haven't indicated either way, have you already looked at the built in web interface?
  • LucianLucian Join Date: 2004-01-09 Member: 25193Members, Constellation
    If you look at the web interface code, it's quite simple. It's just an exchange of JSON to and from the server. You should be able to do this from a desktop app too.
  • SjNSjN Join Date: 2003-01-07 Member: 11983Members, Reinforced - Supporter
    Thank you, I'll look into that.
  • SjNSjN Join Date: 2003-01-07 Member: 11983Members, Reinforced - Supporter
    edited November 2012
  • GuspazGuspaz Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 2862Members, Constellation
    rcon commands don't return results via the web interface, so if you don't care about the results and just want to execute a command, you can do this super easily with something like wget. As in, just use wget to execute an rcon command on the server as a one-off thing. Want to have a message appear on the server eery 15 minutes or something? Just create a scheduled job (via task scheduler on windows or cron job on linux) to run wget with the sv_say command every 15 minutes. Obviously if you want to get information from the server and do something with it, you need way more than that, but if you just need to blindly send some commands to the server you can do that without writing a line of code; the rcon command is just a GET parameter of the URL.
Sign In or Register to comment.