Setting up dedicated server; issue or two...

StrikeS12StrikeS12 Join Date: 2007-10-13 Member: 62631Members
edited September 2012 in Server Discussion
I run a few dedicated servers; so I have some background in that regards. I'm starting to put up some NS2 Servers for my server community since they requested that I looked into it. I found the Wiki and I've been able to get a server up and online... however I have a few things still missing; or that I'm overlooking. (Running on a Dedicated Box)

I'm not able to find the server.xml file any where at all; nor even any of these config files are created upon server launch. For example; the first time the server was run... no files were created anywhere (that I could find right away via the Wiki/Post Information) yet the server is online and playable. (which was odd)

I pretty much did a search for *.json and *.xml files and came up with nothing; not a thing under APPDATA or anywhere...

No MapCycle... no ServerConfig... and so forth. I feel like I *have* to be missing something here since the server is online, running and playable... lol.

I've followed the Wiki on it as straight-forward as I can.. even tried a few things/tricks of the trade from just administrating servers in the past.

I spent the whole day/night getting prepared to run a few dedicated servers (we support them with forums and a website to build a community on the servers) for NS2; tomorrow I'm going to be looking into that WebAdmin part of it and who knows... maybe I just need to sleep on it and then look at it fresh.

-Forgot to add: When I launched the server for the first time... it did make an AppData\Roaming\Natural Selection 2 folder and the only file in it was log.txt which had only output what was in the console.

Comments

• WhosatWhosat Singapore Join Date: 2006-11-03 Member: 58301Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited September 2012
    To get server.xml created, add the "<i>-save true</i>" parameter on your Server.exe.