Feedback from NS1 comm Vet and IRcombat creator

zachtoszachtos Join Date: 2004-04-22 Member: 28078Awaiting Authorization, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow
Flayra/Charlie,

I'm an old NS1 veteran/constellation member. I commanded 50% of my playtime and played for about 4 years. I'm an Engineer and a programmer, so I know what it takes to build/design. I built my own real life laser tag game insipred by Half-life mods (IRcombat.com).

Tutorial
Please include an in game tutorial. It needs to have a story line built into the tutorial (starship troopers or SC style). Make it a single player device that launches by default. This would make the game feel more polished and prevent a lot of frustration from new players flooding servers and dragging games down with teaching.

Compliments
LOVE that aliens have comm now. Now truly an FPS/RTS for both teams. Great way to add leadership role.
ARCs are epic. I LOVE the audio and visuals, amazing. Well done.
Love the creep model for aliens, makes the game feel more dynamic (needs tweaking still though)
Alien vision, very sweet. Even the wife said that looks like a predator movie (need the predator 'snap' sound effect when turn on/off).
Great new weapons for marines. Flamethrower will entice alot of players to buy the game alone!
NO COMBAT mode, yay! I know it was popular, but it cut the community in half, and many people would leave the game when a combat map rotated in. Most players love the RTS mode. Combat was basically a deathmatch, and there are plenty of games out there that already do that. Show your strengths! RTS/FPS Hybrid!!!

Future Game Expanision
Psionic Race - Plan ahead while programming... great way to make some more cash!

Commanding
Squads assignment/hotkeys please
Select all units
Need que-able drones, MACs and ARCs to feel more 'polished' like a real RTS

Suggestions