execution of DI

DeadzoneDeadzone Join Date: 2003-07-03 Member: 17911Members, Reinforced - Shadow
Saw someone comment on why DI shown in a previous tech demo would/wouldn't work. Assuming the devs haven't found a secret awesome method to make a truly dynamic infestation, how about this? I'd like to know if this is/isn't possible, and why, just out of curiosity.

I'm not a mapper, but I am a graphic artist. I'm used to the concepts of masks and layers covering "hidden" art underneath the mask/layer.

Is there a reason a mapper couldn't make a clean "marine" room, make a crazy cool infested room in the same location, and have the engine mask over the infestation? Basically, provide the tools to the mapper to slather Infestation over finished geometry. It would get put on as a mix of 3-D globby shapes and texture. The clean rooms are the base map, with the prepared infestation being a second "layer" painted over the map.
When marines control a room, the engine does not display the painted textures or modeled infestation. As it spreads, the mask is gradually removed, and all the infestation becomes visible. Maybe with little animations along the edges as the infestation creeps along the walls. The lighting can change at set points in the process - I believe that's already possible.

It wouldn't be procedural, the DI would look the same each time, and it would all be up to the mapper. However, the bits of mask getting removed could be random, growing differently each time. I'd also imagine this method would be less demanding on the PC.

Would it never work? Is it just impractical? Would mappers hate the extra layer of work? Maybe UWE has something cooler functioning hidden away already? I have no idea. Tell me what'cha got, people~

Comments

• TwiggehTwiggeh Join Date: 2010-09-24 Member: 74165Members
    Adding an extra layer on every map would make life much more annoying as a mapper, and downright frustrating when it comes to, say, weldable doors and such.