Whats the best 3d modelling program to use?

AmazonAmazon Join Date: 2003-12-06 Member: 24083Members
Hi,

I'm a noob modeller, I need to knkow the best 3d modelling program. And it'll help if you guys know the location of tutorials on making 3d models. Anyone?

thanks

Comments

• SnappyCrunchSnappyCrunch Join Date: 2004-08-03 Member: 30328Members, Constellation
    <a href="http://dayofdefeat.net/forums/archive/index.php/t-51089.html" target="_blank">http://dayofdefeat.net/forums/archive/index.php/t-51089.html</a>

Your basic best-bet options are 3ds max if you want an expensive, professional package, and Milkshape 3D if you want cheap and (relatively) easy.

Keep in mind that once you have learned one program, you are unlikely to swich to another, because they all have steep learning curves, and they work very differently.
  • SpaceJesusSpaceJesus Join Date: 2004-07-02 Member: 29683Banned
    Milkshape is very good for learning the principles/theory and basics behind modelling, and it's cheap and easy to use, but if you're looking to get seriously into modelling then I would recommend 3D Studio Max, as it is generally regarded as the industry standard for a good reason, once you've learned the UI it's incredibly powerful and a lot easier to do things with than milkshape is. Maya and XSI I've heard are also good, I haven't used either of them myself.
  • SnappyCrunchSnappyCrunch Join Date: 2004-08-03 Member: 30328Members, Constellation
    XSI is excellent for Source modeling, given that it's what Valve used to create most HL2 assets. But I've been unable to find any Half Life 1 .smd exporters for it.

Maya is another professional level modeling package, but I haven't been able to find any HL1 .smd exporters for it (though I have seen a Source .smd exporter)