Creating Animated Sprites?

FlyingcowFlyingcow Join Date: 2005-02-16 Member: 41451Members
Hey, after looking at a few of the sprites in the game folder, i decided to try and do some 2d animation.

what programs did the developers use to make the sprites for lerk spores, bilebomb, and spit, and the other animated ones.? also are there any tutorials to get me started?

any help would be appreciated. i have some experience with photoshop, imageready(basic animation. nothing as fancy as animated smoke.) and flash, but thats it.

Comments

• CrispyCrispy Jaded GD Join Date: 2004-08-22 Member: 30793Members, Constellation
    Bilebomb's not a sprite, it's a model.
  • Owen1Owen1 Join Date: 2003-04-13 Member: 15457Members
    erm... the best thing to do is use filext to look for a program called "sprite editor" and "sprite viewer". from there it's pretty much like making an animated GIF file, adding more than one image to produce an animated one.
  • CoolCookieCooksCoolCookieCooks Pretty Girl Join Date: 2003-05-18 Member: 16446Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation
    <!--QuoteBegin-Crispy+Aug 1 2005, 11:13 AM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td><b>QUOTE</b> (Crispy @ Aug 1 2005, 11:13 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'><!--QuoteEBegin--> Bilebomb's not a sprite, it's a model. <!--QuoteEnd--> </td></tr></table><div class='postcolor'> <!--QuoteEEnd-->
    the explosion for it is.
  • BAshhBAshh Join Date: 2003-08-26 Member: 20222Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor
    technically the explosion is a particle effect.
  • MausMaus Join Date: 2002-11-03 Member: 5599Members