Won-id Question

PJJPJJ Join Date: 2002-11-21 Member: 9579Members
<div class="IPBDescription">How the numbering works</div> Hey. I was wondering. How does the Won-ID number system work? Are the lower number users that have been around longer? Does each CD-Key have its own Won-ID assigned to it? What?

I'm wondering since I bought HL the first day, and my Won-ID is in the 8 digit range, where as some newer people have 6 digit Won-ID's.

Comments

• LiquidFusionLiquidFusion Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3139Members
    I know for a fact that it isn't based on how old you've had it. I bought halflife the day it came out (wow i've been playing this game for over 4 years) And i have like a 6 digit key. my friend who has only played it for about 2 years has a lower number than me.
  • TweedleTweedle Join Date: 2002-11-07 Member: 7581Members
    Each CD Key gets a WON the first time it is used. WONs are assigned sequentially. ie: First person to play HL online got the won 1, second person got won 2, etc. If you got two new CD Keys and brought them both online within seconds of each other, the second WON ID would be the first WON ID + 1. (So many numbers, sorry. I hope that makes sense.)

Pre- CS 1.0, WON did infact indicate how long you'd have been playing. Once Valve bought CS, they revamped the whole WON system or did something to it as a part of the "new retail game" thing. They had to reset their entire database. Again, WONs were assigned, starting with 1, in the order than the CD keys were played with online. So if your WON id is four or five digits, you've played Half-Life/mods online atleast since the time that CS 1.0 was released. Two people from my old CS clan have three digit wons, even though there were several hundred thousand people who played HL online before them.

Make sense?
  • PJJPJJ Join Date: 2002-11-21 Member: 9579Members
  • SkWyReLSkWyReL Join Date: 2002-11-19 Member: 9360Members
    Hey,

Does WON ID correspond to IP?