Trouble With Ports On A Dedicated Server

PistachioPistachio Join Date: 2005-05-26 Member: 52481Members
Alright.

So I'm new to Linux. I'm running Redhat 9, and I've got everything installed that I need for the dedicated server. I actually used the setup guide written by Vadakill (I extend my thanks, it was a huge help).

When I type in

"./hlds_run -game ns +exec server.cfg +ip xx.xxx.xxx.xxx +port 27015 +maxplayers 12 +map ns_eclipse"

I get the following error.

"FATAL ERROR (shutting down): Couldn't allocate dedicated server IP port 27015."

The server is behind a router, and port forwarding is working correctly. I have tried other ports in the same range, and some out of range as well, like 10000 just for kicks, and nothing seems to work. I know the ports I have tried are free, so it's not an issue of use. I've been searching for the solution for awhile now, and frankly, I'm a bit stuck.

Any help anyone could offer would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Members
    take the +ip option off. hlds doesnt like being bound to a specific ip address.
  • PistachioPistachio Join Date: 2005-05-26 Member: 52481Members
    I actually tried that earlier, and it still doesn't work. It gives the server an ip address of 127.0.0.1:27015, and I can't connect.

Considering this is my first time making a dedicated server, what should I see when it is working correctly?
    I've been combing through other message boards, and tutorials for the solution, and I tried changing the ip address in my etc/hosts file to 192.168.1.110(which is the static ip I have assigned to the linux box), instead of 127.0.0.1. Now the server ip is displayed as 192.168.1.110 when I try running it, but I still can't connect. I think it is running, but just not correctly. When I enter "status", it outputs the hostname, server ip, current map, number of players, etc. , but I seem to have no way of seeing it, or connecting to it through steam.