Self-made/custom Vs Branded Desktop Computers

StormLiongStormLiong Join Date: 2002-12-27 Member: 11569Members
<div class="IPBDescription">So whats their differences?</div> As far as I have seen

Self-made/Custom Desktop - For those that can fix computer problems themselves and know about how to avoid overheating the computer in general.

Branded Desktop Computers - For total newbies that need the "support" provided by these companies.

Is it generally cheaper to get Self-made/Custom Desktops though?

I have always been stuck with branded desktop computers(Dells) and I always end up adding in my own components and reformating/upgrading the OS after a few days of use.

Comments

• TychoCelchuuuTychoCelchuuu Anememone Join Date: 2002-03-23 Member: 345Members
    It's much much much cheaper to build your own PC. You lose support, expert building, a fancy brand name, and bragging rights to people who know nothing about PCs, but you save a copious amount of money.
  • MonkfishMonkfish Sonic-boom-inducing buttcheeks of terrifying speed&#33; Join Date: 2003-06-03 Member: 16972Members
    Building your own pc makes you feel good inside.
  • ComproxComprox *chortle* Canada Join Date: 2002-01-23 Member: 7Members, Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS1 Playtester, NS2 Developer, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Silver, Subnautica Developer, Subnautica Playtester, Pistachionauts
    After much research into what is cheaper, at least where I live in Canada, it is cheaper to buy a pre-built machine nowadays. HP and such get such good deals on their bulk purchases and seperate parts are so expensive its pointless for me to build, which makes me sad cause I always have.
  • UnderDOGUnderDOG Join Date: 2003-04-05 Member: 15221Members