[wip] High Poly Phasegate

SnappyCrunchSnappyCrunch Members, Constellation Join Date: 2004-08-03 Member: 30328Posts: 495
C&C please
With the recent release of the high poly res tower, and maybe a high poly armory being released in the (hopefully near) future, I figured I'd try my hand at it. This is what I have so far. The poly count is 1552, so I can add a little more detail without crippling my computer smile-fix.gif I want to know - is there anything I should add/change before I start skinmeshing it?
[Low Poly Packs: Marine Structures, World Models, Players]
[High Poly Models: Phasegate, Infantry Portal]
«13

Comments

  • SnappyCrunchSnappyCrunch Members, Constellation Join Date: 2004-08-03 Member: 30328Posts: 495
    edited May 2005
    And a copy of the unskinned model, if you want to take a better look at it.

    [EDIT] Hopefully this download, y'know, works[/EDIT]
    [EDJT] I traded out the download for an updated screenshot.[/EDIT]
    Post edited by Unknown User on
    [Low Poly Packs: Marine Structures, World Models, Players]
    [High Poly Models: Phasegate, Infantry Portal]
  • axmanaxman Members Join Date: 2004-02-20 Member: 26724Posts: 322
    im thinking that you could model in a erected objest in the middle and having orbs near the erected cylinder pip and this is where the powere goes through to the orbs and inthe the pip and this is more pleasureable for girls to us ehte pg


    it looks hot umm i cant think of anythingn for u to add to it basically cause i dont rmeber what the pahse gat elooks like cause i ahev played ns in a lil bit eek


    Alright well now with all that bad grammar and misspelligns and what not out of the way id like to say its hot id hit it and i want to skin it so mesh it unless there is something else need to be added to it....

    much love axman... id hit it just like i already made an up and down motion while looking at the res tower that zer0 made/

    good job keeping up the tradition
    Master 2D Artist.
    Master Texture Artist.
    user posted image
  • DrfuzzyDrfuzzy FEW... MORE.... INCHES... Members Join Date: 2003-09-21 Member: 21094Posts: 4,507
    edited April 2005
    Spam Removed

    You know better fuzzy marine.gif
    Post edited by Unknown User on
    image
  • axmanaxman Members Join Date: 2004-02-20 Member: 26724Posts: 322
    ahhaahha im like half asleep dr fuzzy i loves u tooo .. o yeha u could model um th eup arrows on it lol my english is good i know sum french to

    1 year of highschool french well amost

    heres a lil bit of it i like to say this

    je ne parle pas le francais i know theres a accent on the c but i forget its name and i dont know how to make it with the alt thing and im to lazy o ook it up...... umm u could model a speak and spell for it too
    Master 2D Artist.
    Master Texture Artist.
    user posted image
  • SkySky Members Join Date: 2004-04-23 Member: 28131Posts: 3,666
    edited April 2005
    QUOTE (axman @ Apr 28 2005, 07:42 PM)
    im thinking that you could model in a erected objest in the middle and having orbs near the erected cylinder pip and this is where the powere goes through to the orbs and inthe the pip and this is more pleasureable for girls to us ehte pg


    it looks hot umm i cant think of anythingn for u to add to it basically cause i dont rmeber what the pahse gat elooks like cause i ahev played ns in a lil bit eek

    What the hell....are you getting turned on by the phase gate or something? I need a translation over here, all I'm getting is random words combined with suggestive crap like "erected" and "pleasurable" strewn about.

    Oh yeah, the model looks really nice. I'd use it.
    user posted image
    QUOTE (Snidely)
    I guess their slogan should be "with a Trojan, sex will last as long as the Trojan War, with only a fraction of the eroticism".
  • KaineKaine Members, Constellation Join Date: 2002-08-07 Member: 1096Posts: 1,017
    i really think you should ditch that mesh bit in the middle, make it one big poly and the skinner can make it a mesh using transparency. then you can use the polys from there elsewhere biggrin-fix.gif
    IPB Image g0t constie?
  • BreakthroughBreakthrough Texture Artist (ns_prometheus) Members, Constellation Join Date: 2005-03-27 Member: 46620Posts: 893
    I love high-poly models, and when I saw this... I cried for joy.


    This is a masterpiece, very nice work biggrin-fix.gif
  • TychoCelchuuuTychoCelchuuu Anememone Members Join Date: 2002-03-23 Member: 345Posts: 10,499
    I agree with the de-meshynizing. You won't be able to see it ingame because it's so bright.
    QUOTE (MOOtant @ Sep 21 2012, 11:06 AM) »
    What is wrong with being a racist?

  • DrfuzzyDrfuzzy FEW... MORE.... INCHES... Members Join Date: 2003-09-21 Member: 21094Posts: 4,507
    QUOTE (Kaine @ Apr 28 2005, 08:45 PM)
    i really think you should ditch that mesh bit in the middle, make it one big poly and the skinner can make it a mesh using transparency. then you can use the polys from there elsewhere biggrin-fix.gif

    Thus, removing the high poly and the chance of it getting ported to NS:S
    image
  • SnappyCrunchSnappyCrunch Members, Constellation Join Date: 2004-08-03 Member: 30328Posts: 495
    QUOTE (Kaine @ Apr 28 2005, 08:45 PM)
    i really think you should ditch that mesh bit in the middle, make it one big poly and the skinner can make it a mesh using transparency. then you can use the polys from there elsewhere biggrin-fix.gif

    Mmm. I thought of that, but there are a couple of problems with that approach. 1) I still have extra polys to work with, so I don't need to cut the poly count so I can add detail elsewhere. 2) The HL engine doesn't deal with that kind of transparency very well. The grate would look like crap, even if you were looking at it from head on. 3) The grate isn't as many polys as you think it is. I had to cheat with that, so it's just a bunch of overlaid beams, instead of true interlocking beams. It's about 200 polys the way it is, but it would be about 1800 polys the "right" way.

    With that said, if anyone would like to see more detail in the model, please tell me where I could add it. Note that it would be nice if a person could see the detail, so nothing too terribly small or fiddly will be seriously considered.
    [Low Poly Packs: Marine Structures, World Models, Players]
    [High Poly Models: Phasegate, Infantry Portal]
  • KaineKaine Members, Constellation Join Date: 2002-08-07 Member: 1096Posts: 1,017
    fair enough about the grate, good to hear you thought it through smile-fix.gif

    as for more detail... i dunno =/ maybe add some fixings/edging around the entry points of the pipe, it doesn't look quite right the way it is.
    IPB Image g0t constie?
  • ZeroByteZeroByte Members Join Date: 2002-11-01 Member: 3057Posts: 1,404
    Awesome detailing snappy. Try modelling the top of the nuclear box and if you still haven't hit your poly budget, add the circular indentations to the top of those things that poke out from the phasegate. Minor critique, make the thinner part and the thicker part of those poking out things on separate smoothing groups.
    image
  • xxReconzxxxxReconzxx Members Join Date: 2005-02-13 Member: 40952Posts: 73
    It's great more high poly stuff if being made, can't wait till ya done. biggrin-fix.gif
  • PRTePRTe Members Join Date: 2003-10-25 Member: 21919Posts: 607
    oh yes... high poly ftw
    Parasit3/ Eolesh
  • esunaesuna Rock Bottom Members, Constellation Join Date: 2003-04-03 Member: 15175Posts: 5,576 Fully active user
    edited April 2005
    Looks nice, although i really think the grille in the middle is overkill. There's high poly, then there's just wasting polys just because you can.
  • SnappyCrunchSnappyCrunch Members, Constellation Join Date: 2004-08-03 Member: 30328Posts: 495
    Once again:

    I had to cheat to do that grill. It's just a bunch of overlaid beams instead of true interlocking beams. It's only 116 polys; I just counted. Yes, doing it the "right" way would have been overkill at around 1300 polys. I can also make a version for the people who don't mind the poly waste, if there's any demand for it :-P
    [Low Poly Packs: Marine Structures, World Models, Players]
    [High Poly Models: Phasegate, Infantry Portal]
  • nogoodnicknamenogoodnickname Members Join Date: 2005-03-23 Member: 46172Posts: 480
    i would want to use that if 100 fps, is pentium 4 prescott 3.0ghz good?
    real nick: RNG
  • MrSocksMrSocks Members Join Date: 2004-07-16 Member: 29946Posts: 391
    QUOTE (nogoodnickname @ Apr 29 2005, 10:44 AM)
    i would want to use that if 100 fps, is pentium 4 prescott 3.0ghz good?

    this is half life engine, don't worry about using high poly things with a cpu like that
    "I know kung-fu..."
    "for the last time, no, you don't"
    -Celebrity Jeopardy
  • CoolCookieCooksCoolCookieCooks Pretty Girl Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation Join Date: 2003-05-18 Member: 16446Posts: 5,602
    exactly, its the halflife engine, it really doesnt matter what CPU you got if the actual engine cant handle that sort of polycount.
  • SnappyCrunchSnappyCrunch Members, Constellation Join Date: 2004-08-03 Member: 30328Posts: 495
    I think what MrSocks is saying is that the half life engine isn't very demanding, so you can use higher poly models than you would be able to in a game like Far Cry or HL2.

    As far as the Half Life engine crashing due to too many polys, it's a sort of generally accepted thing that it happens, but it's never reproducible. I'm betting that Half Life crashes not due to too many polys, but when the engine has to draw a certain thing with certain lighting, and having more polys on screen just makes it more likely that it'll have to draw the wrong thing, and then it crashes.
    [Low Poly Packs: Marine Structures, World Models, Players]
    [High Poly Models: Phasegate, Infantry Portal]
  • axmanaxman Members Join Date: 2004-02-20 Member: 26724Posts: 322
    i just played sum ns n i noticed the lights on the thing maybe add the llights at least i thinkt hey were lights
    Master 2D Artist.
    Master Texture Artist.
    user posted image
  • nogoodnicknamenogoodnickname Members Join Date: 2005-03-23 Member: 46172Posts: 480
    edited April 2005
    QUOTE (MrSocks @ Apr 29 2005, 10:57 AM)
    QUOTE (nogoodnickname @ Apr 29 2005, 10:44 AM)
    i would want to use that if 100 fps, is pentium 4 prescott 3.0ghz good?

    this is half life engine, don't worry about using high poly things with a cpu like that

    real nick: RNG
  • nogoodnicknamenogoodnickname Members Join Date: 2005-03-23 Member: 46172Posts: 480
    i should really dl that when thats rdy. atleast theres no more than 1 pg in 1 room. except some co maps ehh, doesnt drop fps so much than turret farm with original turrets
    real nick: RNG
  • aeroripperaeroripper NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, Constellation Join Date: 2005-02-25 Member: 42471Posts: 2,423 mod
    I would make a "fiberglass" looking grill (the part that you step on) and underneath that make 2 or 3 clear pipes carrying particles underneath it so it looks like its pumping them either from the floor, or working like a pump pumping them all through the phase gate.

  • ChronoChrono Local flyboy Members Join Date: 2003-08-05 Member: 18989Posts: 5,863
    whats the tri count not the polycount
    QUOTE(MSN)
    Coleman: euro-fighter would be a cool name for a wang

    "SERIOS POSTING - dropping the discussion forums IQ one post at a time"
  • SnappyCrunchSnappyCrunch Members, Constellation Join Date: 2004-08-03 Member: 30328Posts: 495
    1552 was the tri count. I don't have that sort of confusion since I do my modeling in MS3D biggrin-fix.gif

    The tri count is currently around 1850, but I'm not ready to post a new render yet.
    [Low Poly Packs: Marine Structures, World Models, Players]
    [High Poly Models: Phasegate, Infantry Portal]
  • nogoodnicknamenogoodnickname Members Join Date: 2005-03-23 Member: 46172Posts: 480
    if you hawe ms3d. wt program u use at rendering
    real nick: RNG
  • douchebagatrondouchebagatron Custom member title Members, Constellation, Reinforced - Shadow Join Date: 2003-12-20 Member: 24581Posts: 3,509
    what program do you use at english?
    the artist formerly known as 6john
    and
    the artist currently known as d*uchebagatron
  • SnappyCrunchSnappyCrunch Members, Constellation Join Date: 2004-08-03 Member: 30328Posts: 495
    I import into 3ds max for renders. I'm just not very good with 3ds max, 'cause I haven't taken the time to learn it. Much in the same vein, I'm generally use PSP instead of Photoshop, 'cause PSP is what I learned first, and it's what I'm good at.
    [Low Poly Packs: Marine Structures, World Models, Players]
    [High Poly Models: Phasegate, Infantry Portal]
  • nogoodnicknamenogoodnickname Members Join Date: 2005-03-23 Member: 46172Posts: 480
    **** i knew it. every program with good render costs 600.
    real nick: RNG
Sign In or Register to comment.