The Best Router Under 150 Bucks?

Flay3aFlay3a Banned Join Date: 2004-09-29 Member: 31992Posts: 2
edited November 2004 in General Server Discussion
In your opinion backed up with experience/facts the best router for the price? I have a 2 year old netgear RP614 router right now. And it sucks. 16 players in the server and it's lagging. On top of that I get a 10-20ms ping on lan when it's empty. and 60-100ms when it's full. So I'm looking at getting a new wireless router.

I'm looking at this one http://netgear.com/products/details/WGU624.php Will it lag too? And if so is there anything better, other then the obvious uberexpensive Crisco routers.
Not Flayra. It's Flayгa.

ACCOUNT UNDER REVIEW

Comments

  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Members, NS1 Playtester Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Posts: 874
    First off, the lead developer's nickname is "Flayra" so don't be surprised if you end up having to re-register and this account is closed.

    Second, try looking for a router that supports multiple simultaneous VPN terminated sessions. The Encryption/decryption requires more horsepower to pull off and therefore usually has a more powerful processor. You could try a Netopia 3346-ENT router which supports up to 15 VPN sessions. I think you can pick those up on Ebay for under a hundred bucks.
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Members Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Posts: 1,119 Advanced user
    w00t, another admin impersonater. think the first one i saw was nemesis zero impersonation

    and wireless servers arent ever going to be very fast, if at all possible go with a gigabit hub and gigabit nics and plug them into a wired router to the internet, ensuring that you will have no choke from filesharing or something on the lan network. (that cost me around $250)

    but since your on a budget, linksys routers are pretty good untill they get fryed by lightning tounge.gif

    also how many players you can have depends upon your internet connection so getting a new router wont necessairly help in that reguard considering the most data 1 player uses is around 10kb a second and the slowest wireless connection is 11 MB a second.

    i have 355 kbs upload on my cablemodem and it starts to choke out at 14 players.
    QUOTE (unknown)
    Admiral, why dont we just breach the hull after overriding the automatic hatchlocks closing procedure?

    Last time we did this an onos just put its fat **** inside the hole and lerks just farted a new athmosphere.
    It looked so gross that we decided to never ever do this again.


    My Website
    NS Map Archive
  • RedfordRedford Monorailcatfjord Members, NS1 Playtester Join Date: 2002-04-28 Member: 528Posts: 2,977
    Imitating a dev is somthing the forum admins probally won't take lightly, so feel free to compain about your rights being violated AFTER this account is banned. Have a good day.
    Am I infected with Delicious?
  • VadakillVadakill The Almighty BSO Members, NS1 Playtester Join Date: 2002-04-02 Member: 373Posts: 874
    Gigabit hub and nics won't really help with such a low volume of data. What really comes into play here is not only the upstream capability of his ISP but, also the router's ability to maintain the sometimes impressive amount of routing table entries. In this case, a powerful router CPU equipped with enough memory will not only allow it to store many table entries but also allow it to quickly pick the correct entry to send and recieve each and every packet.

    I did end up checking out the datasheet for the "RP614" router and found that it already has a fairly powerful ARM9 CPU. I'm not sure if upgrading the router will have much effect on performance. That is, of course, if you have the revision which features this newer CPU, if yours is 2 years old it may be less powerful...check.

    This version does not seem to have wireles capability, do you have an additional wireless access point attached to this router? If so, that may be your bottleneck. Try wiring the server directly to the router and see if the problem goes away.

    I agree about the wireless routers but not so much for latency or lack of bandwidth. I do not like them because they tend to be interrupted by so many devices that share the typical 2.4Ghz range. Additionally, I don't like the security risk they impose. It's just safer, cheaper and better to go wired where possible.
    [NAPT]Vadakill

    NS Win32/Linux Server setup guides:
    http://www.vadakill.com/nsguides
  • EmanonEmanon Members, Constellation Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16254Posts: 692
    edited November 2004
    I agree with you vadakill about the 2.4ghz as I have one currently and when my neighbors use their 2.4ghz phones it can screw up the connection. Although the one he suggests is a 5 ghz model which has a much cleaner/unused spectrum. I had a linksys and now currently have a netgear. Netgear is a much better product in my own opinion. From experience my wireless router is great distance of 400feet and ping to the router has yet to be above 1ms

    I think that product will work out great!
  • GiGaBiTeGiGaBiTe Members Join Date: 2003-10-07 Member: 21489Posts: 1,119 Advanced user
    QUOTE
    Gigabit hub and nics won't really help with such a low volume of data.


    dont know why, but when i switched from 10/100 to 1000, i saw a huge difference in my lan ping. but then when i got a new server its back on the 10/100 right now and the pings are where they used to be. i think its the nic in the computer though, when i checked the udp traffic incoming and outgoing i noticed alot of corrupt udp packets which could be the cause of the higher pings. i guess intel onboard nics on server boards bite the big one
    QUOTE (unknown)
    Admiral, why dont we just breach the hull after overriding the automatic hatchlocks closing procedure?

    Last time we did this an onos just put its fat **** inside the hole and lerks just farted a new athmosphere.
    It looked so gross that we decided to never ever do this again.


    My Website
    NS Map Archive
  • DepotDepot The ModFather Members Join Date: 2002-11-09 Member: 7956Posts: 6,411 Fully active user
    I know D-Links are hated by everyone. I currently run the DL-704P and haven't had any issues in the 2+ years I've had it so save your flames for another thread. tounge.gif

    Of late I am experiencing a lot of lag complaints. I've recently re-formatted and have a stable (albeit cable) connection. Don't laugh when I tell you the server doesn't like more than 8 players (256kbps up and 3.0mbit down) but it's having difficulty any more handling that.

    My question is, when a router goes bad (or starts to go bad) does it simply quit, or does it just decrease in performance? I have checked and double checked everything I can think of, and don't understand why all of a sudden I'm having issues.

    I need to network 2 computers off of a cable modem. What router do YOU like?
    image
    modNS Forums - NS1 and NS2: We Wrote The Book On NS Moddingimage
  • devicenulldevicenull Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue Join Date: 2003-04-30 Member: 15967Posts: 1,540
    edited January 2005
    There's something really screwy with this guys name. On the forum view, it shows as "Flayra", yet in the post it shows as "Flay3a"

    I'm betting its a high-ascii character, thats rendering differently in the two fonts..

    On a more on-topic note, I would suggest a seperate router and access point. This way, your router doesn't have to handle things like WEP... its all offloaded to the access point. I'm running a configuration like this, and it cost about the same as a wireless router.. BEFSR41 and WAP11, both work fine togehter, I also have a netgear switch in there
    wtf.JPG 15.1K
    Rent NS2 Dedicated Servers at www.gameservers.com
  • ScytheScythe NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, Constellation, Reinforced - Silver Join Date: 2002-01-25 Member: 46Posts: 4,371 mod
    It's actually a weird russian-font character that looks a lot like a regular "r".

    On a side note, the Billion 5100 is the best cheap router around.

    --Scythe--
    image
    "Show me an operation that is running smoothly and I'll show you someone who's covering up mistakes. Real boats rock." - Frank Herbert
    image PAPT
  • billcatbillcat Members, Constellation Join Date: 2002-11-02 Member: 4903Posts: 331
    The linksys BEFSR41v3 (cisco branded software) is really sweet and lets you do stuff the netgear dreams of. I'd get one of those since they are like $39 on amazon often and have a nice robust firmware that does dyndns and other things that the other routers don't have.
Sign In or Register to comment.