Update for Half-Life 1.1.1.1 and client library for Mac/Linux

MilaniumMilanium Join Date: 2012-12-27 Member: 176388Members
edited February 2013 in NS General Discussion
http://store.steampowered.com/app/70/ is available for Mac/Linux now. You can install the Linux server binary, but it won't start from the Steam GUI.

f48ab9d0fb12de880235ab9692fb79.png

If you try to do so via the command-line it backfalls to Half-Life 1 (player models are barneys, VGUI is broken, ...) because the cl_dlls is Windows-only.

003671e1561774ce67eb7954f15b3a.jpg

As a huge fan I offer my help to port Natural-Selection 1. Can you publish the source code of the client library?

Comments

• CabooseCaboose title = name(self, handle) Join Date: 2003-02-15 Member: 13597Members, Constellation
    edited February 2013
    I'm far from an expert in these matters, but...

What about creating a linux shared object .so that "tunnels" the client.dll through it, returning whatever function calls the game needs to the linux binaries?
  • GISPGISP Battle Gorge Denmark Join Date: 2004-03-20 Member: 27460Members, Playtest Lead, Forum Moderators, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Squad Five Gold, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Onos, WC 2013 - Gold, Subnautica Playtester, Forum staff
    The best way to get your hand on the sourcecode, if its even posible, would be to email Charlie expressing your interests. Some examples of previus work would work wonders aswell.
  • MilaniumMilanium Join Date: 2012-12-27 Member: 176388Members
    edited February 2013
    I don't have a FPS shooter development or GoldSrc modding resume that would impress anyone. My GitHub account will only show that I am an active contributer to http://www.open-ra.org/ Already sent an e-Mail to Flayra and got ignored. Guess they don't care for their HL 1 mod anymore since the development of NS 2 started.
  • Darklord42Darklord42 Join Date: 2013-02-20 Member: 183230Members