NS2 server crashes on start

cH40z-LordcH40z-Lord Join Date: 2009-07-26 Member: 68269Posts: 94Members, Reinforced - Shadow
Trying to run NS2 on Amazon AWS
QUOTE (Santo @ Mar 1 2012, 11:11 AM) »
Hey there,

I'm actually tring to host a server as well but I'm encountering an unexpected problem. The server just keeps crashing after a short period of time. After checking the windows event log, I figured out that his might be the problem :

Faulting application name: server.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4f47fdc8
Faulting module name: Physics.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4f47fd8d
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00081eff
Faulting process id: 0xbe4
Faulting application start time: 0x01ccf717bab208af
Faulting application path: C:\Ns2\Server\server.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Ns2\Server\Physics.dll
Report Id: 1e5cb7a1-630b-11e1-abef-ed48a1dc7fd0

Some1 of you already faced that problems? I tried it on severall server specs. All used Windows 2008 Server as OS. May this be the crucial point?

Looking forward to your reply ;D

Cheers

Comments

  • FloodinatorFloodinator [HBZ] Member Join Date: 2005-02-22 Member: 42087Posts: 1,301Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    So when I read your post I can see 2 things :

    1.Faulting module name: Physics.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time
    And
    2.Faulting module path: C:\Ns2\Server\Physics.dll

    Do you have physics installed, because it say version number 0.0.0.0?
    image
  • cH40z-LordcH40z-Lord Join Date: 2009-07-26 Member: 68269Posts: 94Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    Of course PhysX and DirectX are both installed on the machine. When trying to re-run the setup it offers me to repair or remove the current installation, so it might work fine.
  • FloodinatorFloodinator [HBZ] Member Join Date: 2005-02-22 Member: 42087Posts: 1,301Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited March 2012
    Was googling some things:

    About the exeption code:
    http://www.updatexp.com/0xC0000005.html

    Do you run the exe as administrator? Think on Windowsserver it could cause more problems, if you lack on right than in any home edition.

    Try to delete the whole Server path and the server exe. Also the server options in %APPDATA%, then check game integrity to redownload the missing files.
    Post edited by Unknown User on
    image
  • playerplayer Join Date: 2010-09-12 Member: 73982Posts: 1,677Members
    Haha, that's an access-violation, hardly has anything to do with rights or the lack of binary-packages, it concerns accessing a pointer that points into oblivion. We've been observing a very similar problem. It's a crash that is (sometimes) triggered when dailing into your server using RDP, and has been ocurring since B191 (so since January 13th). Does any of that ring bells?
  • cH40z-LordcH40z-Lord Join Date: 2009-07-26 Member: 68269Posts: 94Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    It doesn't occur sometimes on my server, it occurs every time I try to run the NS2 server, doesn't matter where or how I run my server, even how often I restarted the VM or relogged in my RDP - it crashes all the time!


    Actually I'm pretty sure the issue is more related to a memory problem, as the NS2 server consumes 100% of my RAM while starting. So I guess I need a bigger Amazon AWS environment in order to run a NS2 server. I was able to run a NS2 server on Windows Azure without a crash but unfortunately they don't allow firewall settings for UDP, so I get a few errors while starting:

    QUOTE
    C:\NS2>server.exe -name "Azure Test-Server" -map ns2_summit -limit 16 -lan false

    Changing setting 'lanGame' to: 'false'...
    Changing setting 'mapName' to: 'ns2_summit'...
    Changing setting 'playerLimit' to: '16'...
    Changing setting 'serverName' to: 'Azure Test-Server'...
    Press Tab to open the console window
    Press Ctrl-C to exit



    Build 199
    Starting Natural Selection 2
    Failed to load Steam Service
    ServiceStart: failed to start
    BOpenService failed
    ServiceStart: failed to start

    Setting breakpad minidump AppID = 4920
    Connected to Steam servers
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/alien/shift/shift.model
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/alien/shift/shift.animation_graph
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/alien/cocoon/cocoon.model
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/marine/exosuit/exosuit_mm.model
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/marine/exosuit/exosuit.animation_graph
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/marine/exosuit/exosuit_mm_view.model
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/marine/exosuit/exosuit_view.animation_graph
    Loading 'maps/ns2_summit.level'
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/props/refinery/refinery_fan_blade_01_big.anima
    tion_graph
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/props/refinery/refinery_fan_blade_01.animation
    _graph


    When I run the NS2 server on a Azure-VM that is equal to the AWS-VM then I run into an thread allocation-error right after loading the map. The slight difference is that the NS2 server + the OS on Windows Azure consumes "only" 87% of the (small) VM.

    At the moment we're not sure if we should spend some money trying out on a real Amazon AWS account, as we're currently using a trial-account which only allows us to run on a small VM, just to figure out the NS2 server has a bad performance or still refuses to run in any cloud environment. We planned a very cool system that would be able to run a dynamic number of VMs including a fully configured NS2-server that is pre-installed depending on the usage and demand, but actually I think we will not invest more time and money into this project.
  • endarendar Join Date: 2010-07-27 Member: 73256Posts: 620Members, Squad Five Blue
    Do you know what sort of specs you are provided, in terms of memory and cpu speed? Interesting concept but it does sound a little hard to accomplish, especially since a lot of those platforms arnt designed for highly single threaded tasks. Interesting nevertheless.
  • cH40z-LordcH40z-Lord Join Date: 2009-07-26 Member: 68269Posts: 94Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited March 2012
    Depends on the Cloud-Provider you're using and on the VM-size. The last NS2 server test ran on a Windows Azure medium machine, just to be sure there is no memory lockup :P

    Just check out
    https://www.windowsazure.com/en-us/offers/ms-azr-0019p
    and
    http://aws.amazon.com/ec2/pricing/ / http://aws.amazon.com/ec2/instance-types/ ( the AWS trial-account runs on a extra small instance which is like 1/2 of the small instance... :S )

    IMO Windows Azure is the better choice for a service like that as it's much cheaper and from my far experience with both services much easier to use and also much more powerful ( i.e. real powerful services, better integration for common programming languages using a dedicated SDK ), beside the lack of no "raw" UDP-support ( I need to dig in a bit more, maybe there's a sexy walkaround :) ).


    I've already seen tons of great services ported into the cloud, as it's really easy to accomplish. So far it's also not a big deal to realize a service like introduced above if there would be a greater hardware support. There's also no real difference running a server on a "normal" root-server or a VM inside a cloud, both actually run on the same OS with some additional packages ( to remotely control or monitor the VM ). As a software developer and huge NS2 fan I really wanted to do something like this, unfortunately it has to wait until I found a solution for my UDP-problem :S
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • cH40z-LordcH40z-Lord Join Date: 2009-07-26 Member: 68269Posts: 94Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited March 2012
    After a long night I spend more time investigating the possible cause of the error by installing Visual C++ 2005 to 2010, re-installed DirectX 9.0c and PhysX, unfortunately it's still not working. So I headed over to the Server Configuration panel and added exceptions for the NS2 Server.exe to allow Incoming and Outgoing traffic ( it's not based on basic port exception, it is based on the server.exe to allow ANY traffic on ANY ports ), still no luck.

    After a few tries I noticed that the server once did managed to get to another step to crash, to be more clear: He managed to get to "Connected to Steam Servers" or something like that and then crashed. Normally the server crashes before he's able to go to that step. Nevertheless adding exceptions to the Windows Firewall didn't change anything.

    I took a screenshot of the whole server:

    image

    It may look like DirectX 9.0c hasn't been installed - in fact it is installed but won't show up the installed program list when using the DxWebinstaller.

    Any ideas? The exceptions posted in the event log are always the same ( access violation in physics.dll ).

    I've tried it once again on a bigger Amazon AWS machine but I'm still experiencing the same errors as on Windows Azure:

    QUOTE
    Failed to load Steam Service
    ServiceStart: failed to start
    BOpenService failed
    ServiceStart: failed to start


    Am I doing something completely wrong or are those errors completely normal?
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • Soul_RiderSoul_Rider Mod Bean Join Date: 2004-06-19 Member: 29388Posts: 3,263Members, Constellation, Squad Five Blue
    QUOTE (player @ Mar 1 2012, 10:37 PM) »
    Haha, that's an access-violation, hardly has anything to do with rights or the lack of binary-packages, it concerns accessing a pointer that points into oblivion. We've been observing a very similar problem. It's a crash that is (sometimes) triggered when dailing into your server using RDP, and has been ocurring since B191 (so since January 13th). Does any of that ring bells?



    I guess you missed this post!

    As advised by player it is a bug that occurs when you connect to the machine using RDP. If you can connect via another method, it won't crash. This is a bug.
  • endarendar Join Date: 2010-07-27 Member: 73256Posts: 620Members, Squad Five Blue
    I don't think its due to connecting via RDP. Connecting via RDP will very rarely crash the server, and it only happens shortly after connecting. If you connect, and then start a server it will be fine, but if you close the connection and a few hours later start a new session, it might crash the server shortly after connecting.

    That's been my experience anyway.
  • devicenulldevicenull Join Date: 2003-04-30 Member: 15967Posts: 1,538Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited March 2012
    Honestly, you aren't going to get acceptable performance running the server within a VM somewhere. NS2 eats as much CPU as you can give it, and having to contest with other machines/hypervisor overhead is pretty much going to kill it.

    The ServiceStart errors you mentioned are normal, and don't hurt anything.
    Post edited by Unknown User on
    Rent NS2 Dedicated Servers at www.gameservers.com
  • playerplayer Join Date: 2010-09-12 Member: 73982Posts: 1,677Members
    Any server-operators out there running Windows Server 2008, are we looking at an OS-incompatibility? or perhaps something specific to Amazon's service.

    Though devicenull is right of course, you need a wicked fast CPU(-core) to run a proper server for NS2. Looking at those Amazon specifications, they appear to be based upon multiple slow processing-units, combined to yield a specified performance. Where NS2 demands a single (extremely) high-clocked thread, I fear you will have a terribly performing server.
  • devicenulldevicenull Join Date: 2003-04-30 Member: 15967Posts: 1,538Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    QUOTE (player @ Mar 4 2012, 03:26 PM) »
    Any server-operators out there running Windows Server 2008, are we looking at an OS-incompatibility? or perhaps something specific to Amazon's service.

    Though devicenull is right of course, you need a wicked fast CPU(-core) to run a proper server for NS2. Looking at those Amazon specifications, they appear to be based upon multiple slow processing-units, combined to yield a specified performance. Where NS2 demands a single (extremely) high-clocked thread, I fear you will have a terribly performing server.


    Yes, I run all my servers on 2k8, and they all work fine (2k8 R2 SP1 specifically).
    Rent NS2 Dedicated Servers at www.gameservers.com
  • cH40z-LordcH40z-Lord Join Date: 2009-07-26 Member: 68269Posts: 94Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    Don't worry about the CPU, there are plenty of VM-types available with quad- or 8-core CPUs, 64 GB of RAM and so on :) All VMs on AWS and Azure are dedicated servers that won't be shared with other customers. Azure might be the better choice for high-performance computing than AWS, as their raw cpu-power is much higher.

    I've already tried running NS2 on Windows Server 2008 SP1 and 2008 R2 SP1, both had the same issues.

    And no Soul_Rider, I didn't miss that post. It even won't either when I launch the NS2 server through a self-written webservice or program, so RDP should not be the problem.


    Thanks so far guys for brainstorming, but are there any other ideas what might cause the problem?
  • playerplayer Join Date: 2010-09-12 Member: 73982Posts: 1,677Members
    QUOTE (cH40z-Lord @ Mar 4 2012, 11:21 PM) »
    Don't worry about the CPU, there are plenty of VM-types available with quad- or 8-core CPUs, 64 GB of RAM and so on :) All VMs on AWS and Azure are dedicated servers that won't be shared with other customers. Azure might be the better choice for high-performance computing than AWS, as their raw cpu-power is much higher.

    Yes, but idea is that the NS2-server is wholly single-threaded, meaning there is no difference in terms of performance between an octo-core and a good ol' fashioned single-core. The only relevant piece of information is the clock-speed of the specific core the server will run on. Right now you require something as high as 4GHz or even higher to sustain a good tick-rate throughout the game, this is something you don't easily acquire from cloud-services, or even normal game-hosting services for that matter. Most (if not all) top-tier servers at the moment are more akin to overclocked desktops than actual servers.
  • devicenulldevicenull Join Date: 2003-04-30 Member: 15967Posts: 1,538Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    QUOTE (cH40z-Lord @ Mar 4 2012, 06:21 PM) »
    Don't worry about the CPU, there are plenty of VM-types available with quad- or 8-core CPUs, 64 GB of RAM and so on :)

    NS2 needs about 2GB of memory, and the fastest CPU you have ever seen. Multiple cores do nothing. 64GB of RAM, does nothing

    QUOTE
    All VMs on AWS and Azure are dedicated servers that won't be shared with other customers. Azure might be the better choice for high-performance computing than AWS, as their raw cpu-power is much higher.

    Umm, no. When you rent a VM somewhere, you're getting just that.. a virtual machine. Within the virtual machine, there might only be one NS2 server running, but outside of the VM (on the same physical machine) there are almost certainly many other customers. They might be doing nothing, or they might be using 100% of the CPU. You don't know, and NS2 will not like being interrupted so some other code can run.

    QUOTE
    I've already tried running NS2 on Windows Server 2008 SP1 and 2008 R2 SP1, both had the same issues.

    And if you launch it on your desktop, does it work? This is probably an issue only with virtualized servers
    Rent NS2 Dedicated Servers at www.gameservers.com
  • cH40z-LordcH40z-Lord Join Date: 2009-07-26 Member: 68269Posts: 94Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    QUOTE (devicenull @ Mar 5 2012, 03:14 AM) »
    Umm, no. When you rent a VM somewhere, you're getting just that.. a virtual machine. Within the virtual machine, there might only be one NS2 server running, but outside of the VM (on the same physical machine) there are almost certainly many other customers. They might be doing nothing, or they might be using 100% of the CPU. You don't know, and NS2 will not like being interrupted so some other code can run.


    That may be true for normal server-hosters, but not for AWS and Azure. There is only one VM running on each server, you don't share ANY of your resources. It was mentioned several times by Microsoft in their webcats and it also written on their websites that you don't share anything with other customers, as every customer has it's own dedicated server.

    QUOTE (devicenull @ Mar 5 2012, 03:14 AM) »
    And if you launch it on your desktop, does it work? This is probably an issue only with virtualized servers


    You mean on my local desktop machine or on the desktop of the cloud-machine ?
  • endarendar Join Date: 2010-07-27 Member: 73256Posts: 620Members, Squad Five Blue
    QUOTE (cH40z-Lord @ Mar 6 2012, 07:20 AM) »
    That may be true for normal server-hosters, but not for AWS and Azure. There is only one VM running on each server, you don't share ANY of your resources. It was mentioned several times by Microsoft in their webcats and it also written on their websites that you don't share anything with other customers, as every customer has it's own dedicated server.

    Are you saying that every sever azure hosts is a single dedicated server, which is not used by any other customer apart from yourself?

    Or are you saying that you're guaranteed a minimum amount of resources on the host(s).
  • Soul_RiderSoul_Rider Mod Bean Join Date: 2004-06-19 Member: 29388Posts: 3,263Members, Constellation, Squad Five Blue
    edited March 2012
    If every customer has their own dedicated server, then why bother installing a VM on it in the first place? It's just loss of performance for no reason. Virtual machines are for OS incompatibilities, or for running multiple VM's on a single server, or for using multiple servers as a single machine. There is nothing but a performance hit if you have just one VM per machine. Not to mention additional licensing costs for the VM solution. That really makes no sense from any business standpoint. Can you post a link to the information about these services? I'd like to find out more.

    As previously mentioned, you want the fastest single core you can get for NS2, or the fastest dual core chip you can get, with one core exclusive to NS2, although I don't think that is possible due to OS loadbalancing features..

    ---Edit----

    Checked out AWS and can only find information about cloud storage/mmo hosting for a facebook game. I can't see a mention of dedicated servers anywhere, do you have a link?
    A search for game server on azure returns no results.

    Be careful. A friend of mine found a really great dedicated server deal, and promptly hosted his game on it. But it was a webserver host, not a gameserver host and it did not work properly and cost him a fortune. I can't find any info on dedicated game server hosting on either of the sites, unless you have some specific links, I would have to say these are NOT suitable for hosting games on, or they would be more open about what they offer.
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • devicenulldevicenull Join Date: 2003-04-30 Member: 15967Posts: 1,538Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    QUOTE (cH40z-Lord @ Mar 5 2012, 03:20 PM) »
    That may be true for normal server-hosters, but not for AWS and Azure. There is only one VM running on each server, you don't share ANY of your resources. It was mentioned several times by Microsoft in their webcats and it also written on their websites that you don't share anything with other customers, as every customer has it's own dedicated server.


    You seriously think that you get your own dedicated machine when you use a "cloud" provider? That's insane.

    QUOTE
    Different instances running on the same physical machine are isolated from each other utilizing the Xen hypervisor.
    -> from http://aws.amazon.com/articles/1697 (see "Instance Isolation")

    QUOTE
    Amazon EC2 provides virtualized server instances. While some resources like CPU, memory and instance storage are dedicated to a particular instance, other resources like the network and the disk subsystem are shared among instances. If each instance on a physical host tries to use as much of one of these shared resources as possible, each will receive an equal share of that resource. However, when a resource is under-utilized you will often be able to consume a higher share of that resource while it is available.
    -> http://aws.amazon.com/ec2/instance-types/

    You're confusing microsoft's marketing speak with what actually happens. "not shared with other customers" == "you have your own virtual machine to play with, noone else can access that". I'd love to see it if you can find somewhere where it explicitly says each PHYSICAL machine is dedicated to one customer.

    The only way you can get a dedicated machine from amazon is with this: http://aws.amazon.com/dedicated-instances/ (and why would they offer this if their normal vm's already had a machine to themselves?). At that pricing, renting a physical machine from someone else is much cheaper.

    QUOTE
    You mean on my local desktop machine or on the desktop of the cloud-machine ?

    Your local machine.
    Rent NS2 Dedicated Servers at www.gameservers.com
  • golgothagolgotha Join Date: 2012-04-09 Member: 150151Posts: 14Members
    Hi,

    I too am having the exact same issue. I created a 2008 R2 VM on very beefy ESXi server. As soon as it starts, I get the error messages that chaoz does. I am unable to connect to the server as well. If someone can figure this out, there'll be another NS2 server out there to play on. I've got 8 cores, 64GB, and 1 Gb feed to the net available....
  • golgothagolgotha Join Date: 2012-04-09 Member: 150151Posts: 14Members
    Press Tab to open the console window
    Press Ctrl-C to exit



    Build 203
    Starting Natural Selection 2
    Failed to load Steam Service
    ServiceStart: failed to start
    BOpenService failed
    ServiceStart: failed to start
    Setting breakpad minidump AppID = 4920
    Connected to Steam servers
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/marine/prototype_module/prototype_module.model
    '
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/alien/shift/shift.model'
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/alien/shift/shift.animation_graph'
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/alien/cocoon/cocoon.model'
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/marine/exosuit/exosuit_mm.model'
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/marine/exosuit/exosuit_mm_view.animation_graph
    '
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/marine/exosuit/exosuit_mm_view.model'
    Loading 'maps/ns2_mineshaft.level'
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/props/refinery/refinery_fan_blade_01.animation
    _graph'
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/props/refinery/refinery_fan128_blades.animatio
    n_graph'
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/props/refinery/mining_rockbucket_animated.anim
    ation_graph'
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/effects/windowcracks.model'
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/props/refinery/refinery_fan_blade_01_big.anima
    tion_graph'
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/props/refinery/mining_drill_hung_01_animated.a
    nimation_graph'
    Error: Couldn't open file 'models/props/refinery/mining_crusherpress.animation_g
    raph'
    Error: PhysX: Adjacencies::CreateDatabase: can't work on non-manifold meshes.
    Error: PhysX: Gu::ConvexMesh::loadConvexHull: convex hull init failed!
    Error: PhysX: Error cooking body 5 of model models/props/refinery/refinery_rock_
    stalagtite_08.model
Sign In or Register to comment.