Radiance

2

Comments

  • SN.WolfSN.Wolf Join Date: 2010-03-29 Member: 71115Members
    Stuff this into the next patch, This man just made my Christmas list!!
  • Commie SpyCommie Spy Join Date: 2009-07-02 Member: 68008Members
    edited November 2011
  • YuukiYuuki Join Date: 2010-11-20 Member: 75079Members
    Very nice! But why is the lighting looking in game and in the editor ? I though it was the same engine.

    It would be so cool to have an in-game multiplayer editor, think about minecraft, players spend billion hours building crazy stuff with very basic tools, it's just much more fun when you work with other people and see the results directly in-game.
  • GISPGISP Battle Gorge Denmark Join Date: 2004-03-20 Member: 27460Members, Playtest Lead, Forum Moderators, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, Squad Five Silver, Squad Five Gold, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Onos, WC 2013 - Gold, Subnautica Playtester, Forum staff
  • BJHBnade_spammerBJHBnade_spammer Join Date: 2005-02-25 Member: 42431Members
    edited November 2011
    OMFG all i gotta say is that is beast. and im sure there are a lot of people that dont really care about sharing the servers just put the instructions for making multiplayer work so we can also see the changes others make as well shoot id make a server running it just so people can mess around might be fun with you doing that im wondering what else you can make so you can make changes in game. something like ent mod was for half life.

    just need a command so you can add a light or delete them cant wait till you get those in the mod.
  • YuukiYuuki Join Date: 2010-11-20 Member: 75079Members
    Being able to move the props would be so cool :

    <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBWktvCpl-Q&t=5m0s" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBWktvCpl-Q&t=5m0s</a>
  • BJHBnade_spammerBJHBnade_spammer Join Date: 2005-02-25 Member: 42431Members
    like i said "ent mod" i always used that in ns1 on my server just so i could do things you cant normally with admin mods and cheats.
  • GenomaxterGenomaxter Join Date: 2003-10-11 Member: 21597Members
    <!--quoteo(post=1885320:date=Nov 17 2011, 05:54 AM:name=Yuuki)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Yuuki @ Nov 17 2011, 05:54 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1885320"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->It would be so cool to have an in-game multiplayer editor, think about minecraft, players spend billion hours building crazy stuff with very basic tools, it's just much more fun when you work with other people and see the results directly in-game.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->


    Oh God... Please make this possible!!!
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited December 2011
    I'll just post it here, the light_spot's atmospherics have changed from a boolean (true/false) to an atmospheric density (0 ... 1). Causing errors in 189 and preventing it from loading properly

    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->Script Error: lua/LightEditorViewModel.lua:322: attempt to call method 'GetAtmospheric' (a nil value)
        getter lua/LightEditorViewModel.lua:322
        Get lua/Publisher.lua:45
        SetObj lua/Publisher.lua:17
        subscriber lua/LightEditorViewModel.lua:43
        _NotifySubscribers lua/Publisher.lua:30
        Set lua/Publisher.lua:39
        SyncLight lua/Radiance.lua:135
        Sync lua/Radiance.lua:213
        callback lua/NS2ConsoleCommands_Client.lua:18
        lua/Web.lua:57<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->
  • Evil_bOb1Evil_bOb1 Join Date: 2002-07-13 Member: 938Members, Squad Five Blue
    Is there a quick fix we can apply to the code for it to work?
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited December 2011
    <!--quoteo(post=1888397:date=Dec 4 2011, 10:55 PM:name=Evil_bOb1)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Evil_bOb1 @ Dec 4 2011, 10:55 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1888397"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Is there a quick fix we can apply to the code for it to work?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I tried and it should be something simple though, related to the following

    <b><!--coloro:#FF8C00--><span style="color:#FF8C00"><!--/coloro-->LightEditorViewModel.lua<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--></b>
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->function LightEditorViewModel:_CreateAtmospheric()
        local atmospheric = Publisher()
        atmospheric:Init(function(light)
            return light:GetAtmospheric()
        end,
        function(light, value)
            local actualValue = value and true or false
            light:SetAtmospheric(actualValue)
        end)
        
        atmospheric:SetUndoMessage('changed atmospheric')
        
        return atmospheric
    end


    into -->


    function LightEditorViewModel:_CreateAtmospheric()
        local atmosphericDensity = Publisher()
        atmosphericDensity:Init(function(light)
            return light:GetAtmospheric()
        end,
        function(light, value)
            local actualValue = Clamp(value or 0, 0, 1)
            light:SetAtmospheric(actualValue)
        end)
        
        atmosphericDensity:SetUndoMessage('changed atmospheric')
        
        return atmosphericDensity
    end<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->


    And changing the checkbox into a slider instead

    <b><!--coloro:#FF8C00--><span style="color:#FF8C00"><!--/coloro-->GUILightEditor.lua<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--></b>
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->GUIWrapPanel({Text('atmospheric'), makeCheckBox(self.viewModel.atmospheric)}),

    into -->

    GUIWrapPanel({Text('atmospheric'), makeSlider(self.viewModel.atmosphericDensity, 0, 1), makeStepper(self.viewModel.atmosphericDensity, 0.02, 85)}),<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->


    And changing this line
    <b><!--coloro:#FF8C00--><span style="color:#FF8C00"><!--/coloro-->Radiance.lua<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--></b>
    <!--c1--><div class='codetop'>CODE</div><div class='codemain'><!--ec1-->atmospheric=light:GetAtmospheric()

    atmospheric = data.Atmospheric

    into -->

    atmosphericDensity=light:GetAtmospheric()

    atmosphericDensity = data.Atmospheric<!--c2--></div><!--ec2-->


    But then I got the same error, 'getArmospheric' (a nil value). It's just not getting the value from the level file. Perhaps I got the name wrong, but MapEntityLoader.lua says "atmospericDensity" is the new name now (or I changed the wrong things, I'm not sure :P). Howeverthere seems to be backward compatibility int there as well with the name "atmospheric"


    *sigh*!
  • Evil_bOb1Evil_bOb1 Join Date: 2002-07-13 Member: 938Members, Squad Five Blue
    Thanks for looking into this, maybe someone with more knowledge of NS2 code and LUA could bring up whats going wrong and the proper fix. I am of no help in that department :p But it looks like you are on the right path, with 189 it might be that the engine refers to atmospherics differently than from 187. When Max and Andrew optimized it, some functions and calls might be working differently.
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited December 2011
    Heh, I come from a Web coding background. This lua is quite interesting, this is actually the second time I had a look trough the lua files. It's feels quite familiar to what I know, seems rather clean as well! Heh come to think of it, due to that backwards compatibility in NS2 lua. There's a chance it doesn't even have to change (apart from the checkbox --> slider bit), but getting the values from the level file has changed somehow. If that is the case, I am at a loss :P (source code thingies)
  • Evil_bOb1Evil_bOb1 Join Date: 2002-07-13 Member: 938Members, Squad Five Blue
    :( I hope OnosAteMe is aware Radiance needs some fixing. Lighting is just not the same without it.
  • MaxMax Technical Director, Unknown Worlds Entertainment Join Date: 2002-03-15 Member: 318Super Administrators, Retired Developer, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts, Future Perfect Developer
    Any references to GetAtmospheric on a light would need to become GetAtmosphericDensity. I changed it from having an on/off state to allowing you to specify a value 0 to 1 for how strong the effect is.
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited December 2011
    <!--quoteo(post=1888515:date=Dec 5 2011, 03:44 PM:name=Max)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Max @ Dec 5 2011, 03:44 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1888515"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Any references to GetAtmospheric on a light would need to become GetAtmosphericDensity. I changed it from having an on/off state to allowing you to specify a value 0 to 1 for how strong the effect is.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Thanks a lot for that Max, that's just the info I needed :D




    [edit]
    Onos ate Me patched it officially :)
  • Evil_bOb1Evil_bOb1 Join Date: 2002-07-13 Member: 938Members, Squad Five Blue
  • Onos Ate MeOnos Ate Me Join Date: 2010-12-31 Member: 76072Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    <!--sizeo:4--><span style="font-size:14pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo--><a href="http://dl.dropbox.com/u/53107776/Radiance%20Build%202.zip" target="_blank">Download Radiance Build 2</a><!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec-->

    <!--coloro:#F5DEB3--><span style="color:#F5DEB3"><!--/coloro--><!--sizeo:4--><span style="font-size:14pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo-->New Features<!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    <!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b>Sound editing</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    To create a new ambient sound, type <a href="http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/706/2011121200003b.jpg/" target="_blank">"nsr_make ambient_sound"</a> into the console.
    To modify existing sounds, use F3 and select the sound as you would a light.
    <center><object width="450" height="356"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/7LPYXyQ7zEc"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/7LPYXyQ7zEc" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="450" height="356"></embed></object></center>

    <!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b>Adding and deleting lights</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    To add a point light, type <a href="http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/832/2011121200001.jpg/" target="_blank">"nsr_make light_point"</a> into the console.
    To add a spotlight, type <a href="http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/818/2011121200002n.jpg/" target="_blank">"nsr_make light_spot"</a> into the console.
    To delete a light, select it and press "delete light".

    <!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b>Scenes</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    Allows you to save and load structures that have been placed on the map.

    <!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b>Multiplayer Editing</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    Connecting to a Radiance server:
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 1.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> Run "Radiance/Run NS2+Radiance.exe".
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 2.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> Join the NS2 server like you would any other.
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 3.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> Once connected to the server, type "nsr_connect <i>radiance server</i>" into the server.
         <i><!--sizeo:1--><span style="font-size:8pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo-->e.g "nsr_connect <a href="http://172.31.1.34:24852"" target="_blank">http://172.31.1.34:24852"</a><!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></i>
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 4.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> When that command finishes, type "nsr_sync" into the console.
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 5.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> Type "nsr_checkout" into the console.
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 6.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> It is now safe to start editing.

    Hosting a server:
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 1.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> Ensure that port 24852 is open.
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 2.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> Right-click "Radiance/Radiance Server.exe" and select "Run as administrator".
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 3.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> Run "Radiance/Run NS2+Radiance.exe".
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 4.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> Create a server with the map you want to edit.
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 5.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> Tell radiance to load up the map with the nsr_map command
         <i><!--sizeo:1--><span style="font-size:8pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo--> e.g In the console, type "<a href="http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/215/ns22011111516001848.png/" target="_blank">nsr_map ns2/maps/ns2_summit</a>"<!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></i>
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 6.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> Type "nsr_checkout" into the console.
    <!--fonto:Lucida Sans Unicode--><span style="font-family:Lucida Sans Unicode"><!--/fonto--><!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b> 7.</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--><!--fontc--></span><!--/fontc--> Other players can now join your game.

    <!--coloro:#F5DEB3--><span style="color:#F5DEB3"><!--/coloro--><!--sizeo:4--><span style="font-size:14pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo-->New Commands<!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    <!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b>nsr_make [light_point/light_spot/ambient_sound]</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    Creates a new entity at the position you are looking at.

    <!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b>nsr_build [all]</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    If "all" is specified, all unbuilt structures in the map are automatically built. If "all" is not specified, the structure that you are looking at is built.

    <!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b>nsr_sceneload file name</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    Loads a .jscn file into the game.

    <!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b>nsr_scenesave file name</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    Saves all the buildings in the map into a .jscn file.

    <!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b>nsr_connect</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    Connects to another person's Radiance server.

    <!--coloro:#BCB2A0--><span style="color:#BCB2A0"><!--/coloro--><b>nsr_checkout</b><!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
    Keeps NS2 in sync with Radiance. This command must be ran when connected to a multiplayer Radiance server.

    <center><object width="450" height="356"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/pQvi2heJdTI"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/pQvi2heJdTI" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="450" height="356"></embed></object></center>
    <center><object width="450" height="356"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/cdI9oV-zIwg"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/cdI9oV-zIwg" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="450" height="356"></embed></object></center>
    <center><object width="450" height="356"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/UuCwyabpIQE"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/UuCwyabpIQE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="450" height="356"></embed></object></center>

    <!--sizeo:4--><span style="font-size:14pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo--><a href="http://dl.dropbox.com/u/53107776/Radiance%20Build%202.zip" target="_blank">Download Radiance Build 2</a><!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec-->
    <a href="http://dl.dropbox.com/u/53107776/Radiance%20Build%202%20Src.zip" target="_blank">Radiance source code</a>
    <a href="http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5657558/ns2/ModLoader.src.zip" target="_blank">Mod Loader source code</a>

    <a href="https://skydrive.live.com/redir.aspx?cid=0d230e72ddc8663d&resid=D230E72DDC8663D!151&parid=D230E72DDC8663D!147&authkey=!AFdP_aSQcotT9cQ" target="_blank">Mirror</a>
  • Kouji_SanKouji_San Sr. Hινε Uρкεερεг - EUPT Deputy The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-05-13 Member: 16271Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    Woo awesome stuff! I'll take down my Jerry-rigged patch :D
  • KoruyoKoruyo AUT Join Date: 2009-06-06 Member: 67724Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited December 2011
    Onos, you need a donate button - this mod is getting crazy! (even tho im not a mapper :P)
  • Evil_bOb1Evil_bOb1 Join Date: 2002-07-13 Member: 938Members, Squad Five Blue
  • ObraxisObraxis Subnautica Animator & Generalist, NS2 Person Join Date: 2004-07-24 Member: 30071Super Administrators, Forum Admins, NS1 Playtester, Forum Moderators, NS2 Developer, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Silver, WC 2013 - Supporter, Subnautica Developer, Pistachionauts
    This is superb! :D I saw Simon use it already for sound work on all the UWE maps. It looks like it really sped up his workflow. Great stuff!
  • simon kamakazisimon kamakazi Join Date: 2009-04-28 Member: 67296Members
    yeh this thing is fantastic, i can mix an entire map in an hour or so, (used to take me days/ weeks b4) thank u onos ate me :)
  • HarimauHarimau Join Date: 2007-12-24 Member: 63250Members
    edited December 2011
    This is amazing work...

    If you could, after you're content with the completion of your current tasks, expand the scope to (as others have said) a more interactive sandbox-style map editing process where you can move props around and such, a la GMOD/Minecraft - that would be absolutely amazing. Hell, UWE should just hire you. :P

    Also, +1 for Spark editor integration. And +1 for this:
    <!--quoteo(post=1885105:date=Nov 16 2011, 11:10 AM:name=aeroripper)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (aeroripper @ Nov 16 2011, 11:10 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1885105"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Ideally, you would want your mouse to control the x,y,z of these light placements, so it would be even easier to flesh out lighting in your rooms. Simply create a light at the cursor, then drag it with the mouse to where you want it.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    Possibly also (I don't know how useful this might be), but being able to "enter" the lightsource, and using mouselook/WASD/Space(Up)/Ctrl(Down) to quickly define the position and orientation of the light.


    Btw, was "Radiance" a reference to the name "Spark", or simply a result of the primary objective (easy lighting editing)?
  • MendaspMendasp I touch maps in inappropriate places Valencia, Spain Join Date: 2002-07-05 Member: 884Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Gold, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow, Retired Community Developer
    This is great. I'm able to edit the lights, save the map, etc, but I'm not able to create new lights (or sounds), a message appears in the Radiance console with the coordinates and says "status ok" but nothing happens ingame. Any tips?
  • Onos Ate MeOnos Ate Me Join Date: 2010-12-31 Member: 76072Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    edited December 2011
    <!--quoteo(post=1890495:date=Dec 16 2011, 09:20 AM:name=Mendasp)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Mendasp @ Dec 16 2011, 09:20 AM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1890495"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->This is great. I'm able to edit the lights, save the map, etc, but I'm not able to create new lights (or sounds), a message appears in the Radiance console with the coordinates and says "status ok" but nothing happens ingame. Any tips?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    I'm not sure what could be causing that. You can try the <a href="https://skydrive.live.com/redir.aspx?cid=0d230e72ddc8663d&resid=D230E72DDC8663D!156&parid=D230E72DDC8663D!155" target="_blank">alpha of Radiance Build 3</a> if you want. If the bug persists, run the following commands:
    <ol type='1'><li>nsr_debug</li><li>nsr_sync</li><li>nsr_make light_point</li><li>nsr_checkout</li></ol>
    and then send me the log.txt file in the folder <i>C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Natural Selection 2</i>.

    <!--quoteo(post=1890421:date=Dec 15 2011, 07:30 PM:name=Harimau)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Harimau @ Dec 15 2011, 07:30 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1890421"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->This is amazing work...

    If you could, after you're content with the completion of your current tasks, expand the scope to (as others have said) a more interactive sandbox-style map editing process where you can move props around and such, a la GMOD/Minecraft - that would be absolutely amazing. Hell, UWE should just hire you. :P

    Also, +1 for Spark editor integration. And +1 for this:

    Possibly also (I don't know how useful this might be), but being able to "enter" the lightsource, and using mouselook/WASD/Space(Up)/Ctrl(Down) to quickly define the position and orientation of the light.


    Btw, was "Radiance" a reference to the name "Spark", or simply a result of the primary objective (easy lighting editing)?<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    I'm planning to implement alternate methods for moving lights around for build four or five. Things like modifying props is planned for build five or later as I want to enhance existing features instead of spreading myself too thin.

    I have some ideas for some GMOD like game modes but the ideas aren't fully thought-out and I'm not sure of the feasibility yet.
  • Evil_bOb1Evil_bOb1 Join Date: 2002-07-13 Member: 938Members, Squad Five Blue
    Are you thinking of a particle 'placer' too? I know particles are created through the cinematic editor, but something where we could load them from ingame would be nice.
  • Onos Ate MeOnos Ate Me Join Date: 2010-12-31 Member: 76072Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    <!--quoteo(post=1890560:date=Dec 16 2011, 03:09 PM:name=Evil_bOb1)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Evil_bOb1 @ Dec 16 2011, 03:09 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1890560"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->Are you thinking of a particle 'placer' too? I know particles are created through the cinematic editor, but something where we could load them from ingame would be nice.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->

    Yes

    <center><object width="450" height="356"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/lq6SLTgHpa0"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/lq6SLTgHpa0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="450" height="356"></embed></object></center>
  • Evil_bOb1Evil_bOb1 Join Date: 2002-07-13 Member: 938Members, Squad Five Blue
  • MendaspMendasp I touch maps in inappropriate places Valencia, Spain Join Date: 2002-07-05 Member: 884Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Gold, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow, Retired Community Developer
    <!--quoteo(post=1890557:date=Dec 16 2011, 11:03 PM:name=Onos Ate Me)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (Onos Ate Me @ Dec 16 2011, 11:03 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1890557"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->I'm not sure what could be causing that. You can try the <a href="https://skydrive.live.com/redir.aspx?cid=0d230e72ddc8663d&resid=D230E72DDC8663D!156&parid=D230E72DDC8663D!155" target="_blank">alpha of Radiance Build 3</a> if you want. If the bug persists, run the following commands:
    <ol type='1'><li>nsr_debug</li><li>nsr_sync</li><li>nsr_make light_point</li><li>nsr_checkout</li></ol>
    and then send me the log.txt file in the folder <i>C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Natural Selection 2</i>.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    There you go: <a href="http://pastebin.com/NcmDis2r" target="_blank">http://pastebin.com/NcmDis2r</a>
Sign In or Register to comment.