Steam : Could Not Load Library Client.dll

Browser_ICEBrowser_ICE Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6944Posts: 698Members
(for NS 2.0 after installing Svencoop 3)
I just found an answer to my NS 2.x Steam crashing with this error message :

could not load library
g:\steam\steamapps\...@...\half-life\ns\cl_dlls\client.dll


Apparently this is due to Svencoop 3.0 installed on Steam.

QUOTE
Mod conflicts (client.dll)
This bug has been turning up a lot.

Some older mods may not work if you install Sven Co-op 3.0. This includes Natural Selection 2.0.

The reason for this is that a dll contained with Sven Co-op (fmod.dll, that is used by a wide range of mods) has been updated by its creators. The Sven Co-op team included the latest version of fmod.dll, but it is not backwards compatable, so any mods using an older version of fmod.dll will not work after SC 3.0 has been installed.

Your best solution is to keep two copies of fmod.dll and switch between them as necessary.

Only thing to remember, is that Sven Co-op will not work with the older fmod.dll installed.


A temporary fix can be found in this Svencoop Thread. With NS 3.X, this should (confused.gif) not happen.


I thought it woudl help a few folks here. Don't know if it was the right place to post it.


Browser [ICE]

GMAX support forum moderator at www.turbosquid.com

You can find my own NS Steam background below all done in full 3d !!!
My Artworks available at Turbosquid until I find more space
and at my DeviantArt
Pre/Selection status
GWFilms

Comments

  • MilitaryPoliceMilitaryPolice Join Date: 2003-10-12 Member: 21623Posts: 418Members
    Thanx man, i just installed sven co-op 3 the other day and then i tried playing ns and got that error and i was like W T F!!! lol
    tounge.gif
    user posted image
  • Browser_ICEBrowser_ICE Join Date: 2002-11-04 Member: 6944Posts: 698Members
    bumped in case some people don't use the search feature ...
    Browser [ICE]

    GMAX support forum moderator at www.turbosquid.com

    You can find my own NS Steam background below all done in full 3d !!!
    My Artworks available at Turbosquid until I find more space
    and at my DeviantArt
    Pre/Selection status
    GWFilms
  • devicenulldevicenull Join Date: 2003-04-30 Member: 15967Posts: 1,538Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    QUOTE (Browser [ICE] @ Jan 1 2004, 12:46 PM)
    bumped in case some people don't use the search feature ...

    Bumping won't help, have you seen the number of people that ignore the stickied topics..
    Rent NS2 Dedicated Servers at www.gameservers.com
  • ShirikiShiriki Join Date: 2003-12-17 Member: 24484Posts: 24Members
    I get the same error but I've never installed Sven co-op. I didn't re-install NS because frankly I've got no idea how to install NS 2.0 on steam. Steam just moved all my HL mods when I installed it. Anyone who can tell me why I get this error or how to re-install NS on steam?
    Thanks

    Shiriki
  • devicenulldevicenull Join Date: 2003-04-30 Member: 15967Posts: 1,538Members, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue
    QUOTE (Shiriki @ Jan 2 2004, 11:38 AM)
    I get the same error but I've never installed Sven co-op. I didn't re-install NS because frankly I've got no idea how to install NS 2.0 on steam. Steam just moved all my HL mods when I installed it. Anyone who can tell me why I get this error or how to re-install NS on steam?
    Thanks

    Shiriki

    There are some other mods that update the dll.. try the fix anyway.
    IF IT FAILS, make a new thread, dont keep replying to this one
    Rent NS2 Dedicated Servers at www.gameservers.com
  • Dark_Wolf_EXEDark_Wolf_EXE Join Date: 2003-12-23 Member: 24699Posts: 28Members
    ok this is **** me off i dl the fmod thing and i moved it into the HL folder but it still says that f'd up message
    <----Raziel EXE.[On|E]

    Now We Donce
Sign In or Register to comment.