Reef tank (Pic heavy!)

TenebrousNovaTenebrousNova England Join Date: 2015-12-23 Member: 210206Members
So I mentioned I keep a reef aquarium and was soon asked to make a thread about it. Hopefully the devs will have mercy upon me. I've been keeping saltwater animals for about four years now so you can imagine why Subnautica is so appealing to me. In fact, I do believe that Subnautica has influenced the development of my little reef in some ways. Let us begin!

Main view of the reef:
QYrntm5.jpg

As you can see the tank is fairly small. I started out with a little nano tank that sat on my desk but my habit of spending more money than I should on corals meant I filled it up very quickly indeed. This tank is starting to reach its limit although I'm sure I can squeeze a few more in. ;)

Here's the blue/green chromis. He's a fairly generic reef fish but I figured I'd include him anyway...something about the way he stares at you reminds me of a peeper. They are typically a schooling fish and I did keep two of them. This one is antisocial and chased off his partner, so now he lives by himself.
rlhCIFq.jpg

Next up is the midas blenny. He spends most of his days glaring indignantly at you from his many hidey-holes but soon comes excitedly to the front at feeding time. He has a venomous bite (Not that harmful apparently) and turns almost completely black with his mouth wide open when he feels threatened. He has caused the death of a few small corals unfortunately...I place the plugs they're mounted on into little holes in the rocks for them to spread onto, and he'll respond by headbutting them out so he can have the holes for himself.

I could never part with him though. Partly because of his personality and also because extracting him from his hiding spots would be next to impossible.
nP6ojyI.jpg