New player seeking advice

KonfKonf Australia Join Date: 2015-03-27 Member: 202633Members
Hi guys!

So I've been wandering around and found this game on Steam. I liked it instantly and dived into learning more about it (pun intended). I'm new to this game and I'm really keen on picking it up as it seems like a lot of fun.

However, there is a couple of things I wanted to find out before I do get the game.

Subnautica is in Early Access. I'm not entirely sure when it’s scheduled to be finished, but it seems like there is a whole lot of content to be released in the future. I don’t mind supporting games undergoing development, in fact I actively take part in some beta tests. But with this genre (which I'm completely new to) – I can’t help but think whether I should wait until its finished or just go for it now.

So my questions are:

1. What are your impressions? In your opinion, will it be fun playing the game as a finished product if you have actually already played all of its elements during the development phase? I really want to get into this game, but I can’t decide whether I should wait until all the features are released to play it in its full glory. So what do you think?

2. I've seen some forum posts basically saying “Now what?”. So, how much content is there? I mean, how long do you play this game for before you get to the point where you’re “stuck”? Is there really a massive open world to explore and to tame?

I'm sorry for flooding the forums with this seemingly useless thread, I'm new here and don’t really know if similar discussions happened in the past and if my questions were already asked and answered. If that is the case – sorry for repetition and I’d appreciate if you could direct me there.

Thanks for reading!

Comments

• SeldkamSeldkam Join Date: 2014-01-01 Member: 191213Members