proposed alien vision change

roxxkattroxxkatt Join Date: 2014-12-28 Member: 200431Members
edited January 2015 in Ideas and Suggestions
was talking to obraxis about a few changes, and sent some stuff to some CDT team members, but didnt get a response from them, and got a "not until 272 is out", and then a "not until 273" from obraxis, and he suggested i make a forum account and post in the meantime, so i made this topic.

i got into ns2 when i saw it in a humble bundle about a year ago iirc.
i have been programming for about 15-20 years now, and created my first shader last month after looking in ukes av and wanting more.
other people wanted more as well, so i made a few different av shaders, which then hit first page of steam workshops months most popular in a day, 3 months most popular in a week, and 6 months most popular in a month, and am currently page 2 and 3 of years most popular.
i basically only play alien team, so this is especially important to me.

there were a few things i wanted to implement in the shaders that were not possible within the constraints set by the lua.

my proposal: move some control out of the lua and into the shader, and into the hands of the modders (more easily)

this is not a request to change how the alien vision LOOKS, but how it WORKS, and it gives more control to the people making custom av.
it does this by passing more information about the world to the shader.

proposed changes:
Alien_Client.lua line 540
    if isLocal and self:GetIsAlive() then
        local darkVisionState = self:GetDarkVisionEnabled()
        if self.lastDarkVisionState ~= darkVisionState then
            if darkVisionState then
                self.darkVisionStartTime = Shared.GetTime()
                self.darkVisionEndTime=0
                self:TriggerEffects("alien_vision_on")
            else
                self.darkVisionStartTime=0
                self.darkVisionEndTime = Shared.GetTime()
                self:TriggerEffects("alien_vision_off")