Which GK do i need?

HardyHardy Join Date: 2009-06-30 Member: 67982Posts: 8Members
Hello there :)

I got an nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600 GTS] Graphic-Card at the moment,
i just can play that beautiful NS2 at medium effects and an resolution of 1024x768.
But in battle-events my graphical performance break rapidly. So i need a new one :(

Can you all give me a clue whichs one it should be?

Requirements:
- i do not realy want to buy for more than 150$
- just got space for one PCIe Slot :(

Any ideas which one should it be?

Would be awesome :D

Thanks!
Hardy

Comments

  • zastelszastels Join Date: 2003-11-29 Member: 23731Posts: 388Members
    Let us know what CPU you have. The game is very CPU dependant, which means it relies on processing power more than GPU power.

    You have a 6 year old GPU, which means your processor is probably old too. You may want to consider buying a new PC now. For about $500 bucks you can build something to run NS2.

    Also consider NS2 is still not fully optimized, it will run better and better in time.
  • HardyHardy Join Date: 2009-06-30 Member: 67982Posts: 8Members
    Here is my CPU information:

    processor : 0
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 6
    model : 15
    model name : Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E6850 @ 3.00GHz
    stepping : 11
    cpu MHz : 1998.000
    cache size : 4096 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 2
    core id : 0
    cpu cores : 2
    apicid : 0
    initial apicid : 0
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 10
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm dts tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority
    bogomips : 5999.58
    clflush size : 64
    cache_alignment : 64
    address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:

    processor : 1
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 6
    model : 15
    model name : Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E6850 @ 3.00GHz
    stepping : 11
    cpu MHz : 1998.000
    cache size : 4096 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 2
    core id : 1
    cpu cores : 2
    apicid : 1
    initial apicid : 1
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 10
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm dts tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority
    bogomips : 5999.96
    clflush size : 64
    cache_alignment : 64
    address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:

    I watch the CPU occupancy rate, but itÅ› full load factor is not reached.

    Hmmh,
    Hope you can help me
  • HardyHardy Join Date: 2009-06-30 Member: 67982Posts: 8Members
    Noone have any Ideas?
  • ZaggyZaggy NullPointerException The Netherlands Join Date: 2003-12-10 Member: 24214Posts: 3,634Forum Moderators, NS2 Playtester, Reinforced - Onos, Subnautica Playtester mod
    edited April 2012
    Can't really give out a system requirement for a game that's still in beta.
    I've seen people with high end hardware that are having performance issues and people with lower end hardware where it runs fine.
    That said:
    For CPU, i5 2500k is currently best "bang for buck" I guess? http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/gaming...ock,3106-5.html
    As for the graphics card, that really depends on your budget and monitor resolution: http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/2012-vg...mance,2932.html
    Post edited by Unknown User on
    image Proud Dutchman image
    Join the Natural Selection IRC channel: #naturalselection on irc.gamesurge.net!
  • FloodinatorFloodinator [HBZ] Member Join Date: 2005-02-22 Member: 42087Posts: 1,301Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    edited April 2012
    And if you can buy the Hardware in Switzerland do it (see you're from germany).
    In germany the HD 7970 costs 539€ in switzerland only 432€ (umgerechnet).. without + 13% tax (488€ with taxes)

    I would recomend you a HD 6870 142€ if you buy it in switzeland or a HD 6850 112€ in germany. ( the HD 6780 is too expensive for your budget in germany.

    But don't buy a HD 7770 that could also fit in your budget but has less performance than a 6870 and similar as the 6850.
    Post edited by Unknown User on
    image
  • HardyHardy Join Date: 2009-06-30 Member: 67982Posts: 8Members


    QUOTE (Floodinator @ Apr 4 2012, 08:05 PM) »
    And if you can buy the Hardware in Switzerland do it (see you're from germany).
    In germany the HD 7970 costs 539€ in switzerland only 432€ (umgerechnet).. without + 13% tax (488€ with taxes)

    I would recomend you a HD 6870 142€ if you buy it in switzeland or a HD 6850 112€ in germany. ( the HD 6780 is too expensive for your budget in germany.

    But don't buy a HD 7770 that could also fit in your budget but has less performance than a 6870 and similar as the 6850.


    Hmmmh, Floodinator:

    Do my CPU bring enough performance to run this Craphic-Card nicely on my System?

  • FloodinatorFloodinator [HBZ] Member Join Date: 2005-02-22 Member: 42087Posts: 1,301Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    Thats a good question. I read some articels about the Intel® Coreâ„¢2 Duo CPU E6850 and your question seems a good point. Seems like the CPU could be a bottleneck for the newer GPU.
    But I can't talk about the Core2Duos because I never had one. Maybe someone else can talk about C2D with newer gen GPUs.

    If you think about upgrading you CPU, wait! The new intel gen CPU soon comes out with the same price as the actual i5/7 are listed.
    image
Sign In or Register to comment.