options.xml problem

SolitarioSolitario Join Date: 2006-10-29 Member: 58097Posts: 245Members
I added every possible command in the options.xml to increase fps, r_bloom 0, r_atmospherics 0, r_shadows 0 etc. but when I join on any server, the commands were set to true again. the commands are listed under graphics -> display
How can I avoid this? Without typing those commands everytime in the console?

Comments

  • FloodinatorFloodinator [HBZ] Member Join Date: 2005-02-22 Member: 42087Posts: 1,301Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    QUOTE (Solitario @ Feb 24 2012, 08:27 PM) »
    I added every possible command in the options.xml to increase fps, r_bloom 0, r_atmospherics 0, r_shadows 0 etc. but when I join on any server, the commands were set to true again. the commands are listed under graphics -> display
    How can I avoid this? Without typing those commands everytime in the console?


    Write protect the xml file.
    image
  • SolitarioSolitario Join Date: 2006-10-29 Member: 58097Posts: 245Members
    edited February 2012
    QUOTE (Floodinator @ Feb 24 2012, 08:29 PM) »
    Write protect the xml file.

    oh no ... so easy?
    but when I reopen it, all commands are listed as I changed them. so the game itself didn't change/rewrite the options.xml file.
    that's why I'm confused
    EDIT: just tested it with write protection ... it can't remember the "bloom" command.
    does this command hast to be under graphics->display as well? like "<bloom>false</bloom> ... doesn't seem to work though
    Post edited by Unknown User on
  • Salraine_ChiSalraine_Chi Join Date: 2011-07-03 Member: 107669Posts: 157Members, Reinforced - Shadow
    I use true or false for these. "r_bloom false" for example.

    Sal
  • MendaspMendasp I touch maps in inappropriate places Valencia, Spain Join Date: 2002-07-05 Member: 884Posts: 3,581Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    Use fsfod's non-flash menu, the options screen lets you disable those.
  • SolitarioSolitario Join Date: 2006-10-29 Member: 58097Posts: 245Members
    QUOTE (Mendasp @ Feb 24 2012, 09:36 PM) »
    Use fsfod's non-flash menu, the options screen lets you disable those.

    thanks for the tipp, but I don't want to install a mod, which could minimize fps more and could make problems after updating, when it's possible with config commands! :)
  • SolitarioSolitario Join Date: 2006-10-29 Member: 58097Posts: 245Members
    QUOTE (Salraine_Chi @ Feb 24 2012, 09:12 PM) »
    I use true or false for these. "r_bloom false" for example.

    Sal

    ok, but can u use them like that in the options.xml? for bloom i have for example: <bloom>false</bloom>
    I thought r_bloom false only works in the console?! am I wrong?
  • MendaspMendasp I touch maps in inappropriate places Valencia, Spain Join Date: 2002-07-05 Member: 884Posts: 3,581Members, NS1 Playtester, Contributor, Constellation, NS2 Playtester, Squad Five Blue, NS2 Map Tester, Reinforced - Shadow, WC 2013 - Shadow
    edited February 2012
    You don't have to overwrite anything to use fsfod's mod, it can be in a separate directory (outside of the NS2 folder, even) and you can still launch NS2 as "normal".

    There's only atmospherics and antialiasing in options.xml that you can permanently modify in the "traditional" way, IIRC.
    Post edited by Unknown User on
Sign In or Register to comment.